PDA

View Full Version : Don't buy SB6120 and expect to use with Cox



rinky
04-09-2009, 06:32 PM
Just purchased a SB6120 Cable Modem at Frys Electronics, $99 on sale - less $20 rebate. So puts it in line with the SB5120 on price. BUT (And that is a big BUT) after calling Cox to initialize the modem, they are not able to do so - as they are under the impression that this modem has not yet been launched to the public.

So - You are kinda out of luck if you actually want to use your new modem with them, which sucks.

So - Be warned. Cox in Phoenix Metro & SB6120 is not gonna work.

digiblur
04-09-2009, 06:39 PM
Just purchased a SB6120 Cable Modem at Frys Electronics, $99 on sale - less $20 rebate. So puts it in line with the SB5120 on price. BUT (And that is a big BUT) after calling Cox to initialize the modem, they are not able to do so - as they are under the impression that this modem has not yet been launched to the public.

So - You are kinda out of luck if you actually want to use your new modem with them, which sucks.

So - Be warned. Cox in Phoenix Metro & SB6120 is not gonna work.

Yep. The DOCSIS 3 modem they are using is a Cisco brand.

nullstadt
08-09-2009, 02:32 PM
To dig this topic from the grave...Cox now supports this modem, and it appears to be giving significant performance boosts even on normal data plans. 88 bucks at Amazon.

Reigster at SatelliteGuys