PDA

View Full Version : When an upgrade isn't



Pages : [1] 2

jcarrera
06-06-2010, 03:12 PM
(And when I just posted this, all paragraph breaks disappeared, it stuck in all kinds of codes which I am not taking the time to go edit-- and it entered as one long unreadable mess. Nice day I'm having.
FIXED..you have to allow javascript to eight 3rd sites for message entering to work right.)

I upgraded internet one level to 20 MB. I still consistently measure out at 15.xx to 16.xx, with a RARE (maybe one in 10 over 2 days) in the 18.xx.

On support calls multiple times, and what a disaster one, well two, of those calls were...routed to escalation, who said the case number I was given was still a basic number--they wouldn't talk to me (&amp;quot;you can't just call into escalation&amp;quot<img src="http://cdn.satguys.us/images/smilies/wink.gif" border="0" alt="" title="Wink" smilieid="4" class="inlineimg" />. That was after getting put there on transfer by my SECOND 40 minute call into regular level because the first guy (who gave me an invalid ticket number) dumped me while transferring to escalation.

By the way, at the transfer-to-escalation point, after getting dumped the first time, I told the 2nd one (after the second 40 minutes of hold--and telling them I was not going to go through, as they wanted to do, ANOTHER 40 min of the same troubleshooting the FIRST idiot had done)--that I didn't want to get dumped again, and have to do all this a 3rd time. He said, no problem, he'd stay on the line. He didn't--he dialed the escalation team and disappeared off the line...I go into a standard wait for the next person queue for a LONG time. Again.

With escalation team (after about 4 minutes of looking at his data, &amp;quot;everything looks fine; don't know why speed is low; trade in your modem.&amp;quot;

Did that. No change. Incidentally, in other calls, if a happenstance measurement hits 18+, they say &amp;quot;80% meets the standard. Bye.&amp;quot; Oh, one of the techs kept saying &amp;quot;I often get 22-23.&amp;quot; Helpful.

Working with BHN or Roadrunner or whoever it is is just such a pleasure. And so easily getting what you pay for-- that's just a wonderful thing.

You can probably detect my opinion of this circumstance. I'm tired. I'm mad. And I don't want to be on hold any more. I'll just stay p***** and take the _______ being delivered to me so effectively. Fighting any more is harder than laying down.

sundrop
06-07-2010, 12:13 AM
It does not matter with what provider. 80% of offered bandwidth is within there norms. This applies to AT&T. Verizon. and several others.

Im surpised they did not drop you from the 20MB plan as obviously you have too much noice in your signal.

The Insider
06-07-2010, 10:37 PM
If it was noise he would of noticed the problem prior to the upgrade.

It most likely seems like a utilization issue.

jcarrera
06-20-2010, 04:38 PM
It does not matter with what provider. 80% of offered bandwidth is within there norms. This applies to AT&T. Verizon. and several others....

Problem is, 80% of the time I am below 80% of the specified speed I pay for.

Just now, I got 12.88/1.85 for 20/2 service plan.

Another interesting fact...the Roadrunner test site has, without fail, always given me higher numbers than ANY OTHER SPEED TEST SITE. Makes me suspicious.

The Insider
06-22-2010, 02:09 PM
You being an IT guy should understand why. The RR test server is on BHNS network. You have less hops to get to it vs say an outside test site. Nothing "rigged" about it, just common sense as to why it would be the best link.

jcarrera
06-22-2010, 03:45 PM
You being an IT guy should understand why. The RR test server is on BHNS network. You have less hops to get to it vs say an outside test site. Nothing "rigged" about it, just common sense as to why it would be the best link.

So the 80% of 20 Mbps service level applies only so long as you don't leave BHN/Roadrunner network?

Which makes me think...since they say 80% is OK, why don't they just call it 16 Mbps service? After all, they are only going to take action to fix something if it is below that. Oh, I know, 20 Mbps just sounds better than 16.

http://speedtest.cfl.rr.com/ just gave me 15548/1952--close to being OK (per BHN) for 20 Mbps plan, and that is staying on their network.

The Insider
06-23-2010, 08:43 AM
Yes it only applies to BHNS network, as that is the only thing they can control.

And I agree with you your speeds seem a bit off. Specially if you have "turbo" and it includes powerboost. I have it and its 20mbit plan but I regularly get near 30mbit with the power boost on tests. Even from speedtest.net

tim tim tim
08-07-2010, 08:13 PM
I know this thread is a little old but those speeds seem to low to me. I VERY rearly see the 20mpbs under 18 when its working correctly. There can be a number of issues causing it, likely a tech would need to come out and check to see where the issue is coming from.

Patrick17
08-09-2010, 01:45 PM
Agreec

tim tim tim
08-09-2010, 04:34 PM
Im assuming that with your slow internet and SDV issues that there is something wrong and you need to have a tech come out and get your stuff corrected. This is not that norm for BHN customers.

Reigster at SatelliteGuys