PDA

View Full Version : Denon 4810 does not recognise composite cable input



Pages : [1] 2

Imt2011
08-15-2010, 08:43 AM
I have a denon 4810 but when I connect the composite (red,blue,Green) it does not recognize the signal I have tried to assign the input to no avail. Anyone have any experience about this?
Regards
Imt

castle rock kid
08-15-2010, 09:11 AM
Red,blue and green are the component inputs and outputs.

jayn_j
08-15-2010, 09:57 AM
A long shot, but do you already have the input you are using assigned to HDMI? The HDMI input will take priority.

lakebum431
08-15-2010, 10:44 AM
A long shot, but do you already have the input you are using assigned to HDMI? The HDMI input will take priority.

Exactly what I was going to say. The Denons are great but you have to fully understand how to set them up. What input are you assigning to the composite cable?

Imt2011
08-15-2010, 07:32 PM
Thanks for the info, unfortunately I do not know how to assign the component inputs. In the assignment screen it gives the option of HDMI, which I have in none... and COMP which gives option of RCA1, 2 or 3. I have tried all rca options but no signal.

I am somewhat lost.

Thanks for your input.
imt

lakebum431
08-15-2010, 07:41 PM
OK do this. Take a picture of where you have the component cable plugged in to the back of the Denon. Then take a picture of the assign screen. And we can walk you through it.

Imt2011
08-26-2010, 09:01 PM
Hi,
I apologize for the delay, here are the photos. I included the part of the diagram that the cables are hooked up to as the photo is hard to see.

Thanks for your help,iIf you need more info please let me know.
Regards
IMT

jvc
08-27-2010, 11:52 AM
You are connecting a blu ray player via component cables? May I ask why you're not using HDMI? Is the tv just 1080i with no HDMI inputs? The 4810 is capable of decoding the HD audio over HDMI.

From the pic of the assign screen, I'd say to use the right arrow key, and move the highlight over two places (under Comp), and press the Enter button. That should assign it to COMP (component).

Ilya
08-27-2010, 12:38 PM
As jvc said!
You've got to use HDMI for Blu-ray! It's the one component, where HDMI interface gives you a huge advantage! Not so much in video, but actually in audio quality.
You can only experince the latest audio formats like DTS-HD Master Audio or Dolby True-HD if you use HDMI. In all other cases, the sound is doungraded to old Dolby Digital, which is well below CD quality.
Go to www.monoprice.com, get a $5 HDMI cable and you will be amazed by the difference in sound quality, especially with this Denon!

bill42
08-27-2010, 02:16 PM
Just want to say thanks to those members who have recommended monoprice. Read an article about a week ago which they were recommended. Was surprise at the range and depth of their products. A greater surprise when the cables arrived. Excellent quality and price. THANKS

Reigster at SatelliteGuys