PDA

View Full Version : C/Ku LNBF settings ?



Magic Static
09-05-2011, 06:42 AM
I'm finally setting up the new entertainment system. The new dish and AZbox at the core. I've been studying the LNB settings and don't see a customizable LOF1 and LOF2 setting. I'm thinking there is a paticular firmware version(s) I need for this kind of lnb. Can it be done?

stargaze
09-05-2011, 09:28 AM
Not sure I am understanding your post very clear.
What satellites are you trying to change there parameters on?
What type of dish/lnb are you using?

Here is some general info that may be helpful to you but it was not done specifically for N.A. so you will have to use common sense and make your own adjustments but it may put you on the right path.

The LNB Switch parameter tells the LNB
when LOF1 and when LOF2 should be used

If you are trying to tell the Azbox which settings to use
In the Azbox press HOME <SETTINGS go to TV CHANNEL
TUNER A. DVB-S then ANTENNA SETUP
All your settings are in this menu for your LNB.
Under LNB Frequencies you arrow over to the proper setup for the satellite you are trying to pull in.

---------------------------------------------------
some info from other places on the net.
---------------------------------------------------
Use LOF1 when frequency < LNB Switch
use LOF2 when frequency >= LNB Switch
The LNB converts the high SAT frequency to a much lower frequency
(950-2150 MHz) which can be transported via coax to your sat receiver.
To do this conversion, the LNB uses the LOF1,LOF2 and LNBSW frequencies

I'll take as an example the Astra 19.2 satellite here.
For Astra 19.2 the values are
LOF1: 9750
LOF2: 10600
LNBSW: 11700


Now suppose you want to watch a transponder at 10.7 GHz (lowest frequency)
The LNB has to down-convert this to 950 MHz.
To do this it uses the LOF1 frequency.
the formula for this is : 10.7Ghz - LOF1(9750) = 950 Mhz

Now lets suppose you tune to the highest sat frequency (12.75 Ghz)
The LNB has to down-convert this to 2150 MHz.
To do this it uses the LOF2 frequency.
the formula for this is : 12.75Ghz - LOF2(10600) = 2150 Mhz

Notice that now it uses LOF2.
How does it know when to use LOF1 / LOF 2?
This is mentioned by the LNBSW
for all frequencies < LNBSW the LNB will use LOF1
for all frequencies > LNBSW the LNB will use LOF2


Now about other countries.
Not all countries use the full range of all satellite frequencies
There are several 'band' types defined.
The universal (Ku band) is the one just described.
But besides the Ku band, we also have
- C-Band
- Circular
- North American DishPro Band Stacked Ku Hi
- North American DishPro Band Stacked Ku Lo
- North American Band Stacked Ku Hi
- North American Band Stacked Ku Lo
- North American Legacy

All those bands are slight variations on the Ku band we've described
-Some dont use the LOF2/LNBSW since the SAT frequency used is much smaller (e.g. only from 10.7GHz - 11.7GHz)
-Others use the polarizations (horizontal/vertical) to selected a frequency range
instead of the LNBSW etc.

not 100% sure about the 22Khz tone
but understanding is the 22Khz was used in the past to switch between
the low/hi bands.

bill42
09-05-2011, 09:30 AM
Depends on your LNB. You may be looking for Universal for Ku and turn on the 22kHz

bill42
09-05-2011, 09:32 AM
Sorry I didn't see Stargaze reply. It tells it all

stargaze
09-05-2011, 09:47 AM
here is a list of lnb settings I just located on my hard drive:
I used it when setting up my N.A. sat list at one time.

5.0W : Atlantic Bird 3-C-5150
8.0W : Atlantic Bird 2-?? C or ku ??
11.0W : Express AM44-C - 5150
12.5W : Atlantic Bird 1-KU- 10750
14.0W : Express A4-C- 5150
15.0W : Telstar 12-KU- 10750
18.0W : Intelsat 901-C -5150
20.0W : NSS 5-C - 5150
22.0W : NSS 7-C- 5150
22.0W : NSS 7-KU- 10750
22.0W : SES 4-C < new to replace NSS 7 - 5150
22.0W : SES 4-KU < new - 10750
24.5W : Intelsat 905-C- 5150
27.5 W :Intelsat 907-C- 5150
29.5W : Intelsat 801-C - 5150
30 W :Hispasat1E-KU- 10750
31.5W : Intelsat 25-C-5150
33.5W : Hylas 1-??- c or ku???
34.5W : Intelsat 903-C-5150
34.5 W :Intelsat 903-KU-10750
37.4W : NSS 10-C-5150
37.5 W :Telstar 11N-KU- 10750
40.0W : Amos 5 C < new-5150
40.0W : Amos 5 KU < new - 10750
40.5W : NSS 806-C- 5150
40.5W : SES 6 C < New replaces NSS 806-5150
40.5W : SES 6 KU < -10750
43.0W : Intelsat 11-C-5150
45.0W : Intelsat 14-C-5150
45.0 W :Intelsat 14-KU- 10750
47.0W : NSS 703-??- 5150 ???
50.0W : Intelsat 1R-C-5150
50.0W : Intelsat 1R-KU-10750
53.0W : Intelsat 707-C-5150
53.0W : Intelsat 707-KU- 10750
55.5W : Intelsat 805-C -5150
55.5W : Intelsat 27 C < new replaces Intelsat 805-5150
55.5W : Intelsat 27 KU < new replaces Intelsat 805 -10750
58.0W : Intelsat 9-C-5150
58.0W : Intelsat 9-KU -10750
58.0W : Intelsat 21-C < NEW -5150
58.0W : Intelsat 21-KU < NEW-10750
58.1W : Intelsat 16-KU - 10750
61.0W : Amazonas 1-C-5150
61.0W : Amazonas 1-KU -10750
61.0W : Amazonas 3 -C< new replaces Amazonas 1-5150
61.0W : Amazonas 3 KU < new-10750
61.5 Echostar 12-15 ku - 11250
63W :Telstar 14-KU- 10750
65.0 W :Star One-C-5150
67.0W : AMC 4 ??- 5150 ??
70.0W : Star One-C-5150
71.8W : Arsat 1 KU < new -10750 or 11250 ???
72.0W : AMC 6-C-5150
72.0W : AMC 6-KU-10750
72.7W : Nimiq 5-KU-11250
74.0W : Horizon 2-KU-10750
77.0 W :Echostar 6-8-KU- 11250
77.2W : Echostar 1-KU-11250
78.0W : Simn Bolvar-C-5150
78.0 W :Simn Bolvar-KU-10750
79.0 W :AMC 2-KU- 10750
81.0W : Arsat 2 C < New- 5150
81.0W : Arsat 2 KU < New -10750
82.0W : Nimiq 4-KU - 11250
83.0W : AMC 9-C- 5150
83.0W : AMC 9-KU- 10750
85.0W : AMC 16-KU-10750
87.0W : AMC 3-C-5150
87.0W : AMC 3-KU- 10750
87.0W : SES 2-C < new replaces amc-3- 5150
87.0W : SES 2-KU < new replaces amc-3 -10750
89.0W : Galaxy 28-C- 5150
89.0 W :Galaxy 28-KU -10750
91.0W : Galaxy 17-C -5150
91.0W : Galaxy 17-KU- 10750
91.1W : Nimiq 1-KU - 11250
93.1W : Galaxy 25-C - 5150
93.1W : Galaxy 25-KU - 10750
95.0W : Galaxy 3C-C - 5150
95.0W : Galaxy 3C-KU - 10750
97.0 W :Galaxy 19-C - 5150
97.0W : Galaxy 19-KU - 10750
99.0W : Galaxy 16-C - 5150
99.0W : Galaxy 16-KU
101.0W : SES 1-C - 5150
101.0W : SES 1-KU -10750
103.0W : AMC 1-C - 5150
103.0W : AMC 1-KU- 10750
103.0W : SES 3-C < new to replace amc 1 - 5150
103.0W : SES 3-KU < new -10750
105.0W : AMC 18-C -5150
105.0W : AMC 15-KU - 10750
107.3W : Anik F1R-C - 5150
107.3W : Anik F1R-KU - 10750
107.3W : Anik G1-C < new to replace F1R - 5150
107.3W : Anik G1-KU < new - 10750
110.0W : Echostar10-11-KU - 11250
111.1W : Anik F2-C - 5150
111.1W : Anik F2-KU - 10750
113.0W : Satmex 6 C - 5150
113.0W : Satmex 6 KU - 10750
114.9W : Mexsat 3- C < new - 5150
114.9W : Mexsat 3- KU < new -10750
116.8W : Satmex 5-C - 5150
116.8W : Satmex 5-KU - 10750
116.8W : Satmex 8-C < new to replace Satmex5 - 5150
116.8W : Satmex 8-KU < new - 10750
118.7W : Anik F3 C-5150
118.7W : Anik F3-KU-10750
119.0W : Echostar 14-KU-11250
121.0W : Echostar 9-KU- 11250
121.0W : Galaxy 23-C - 5150
123.0W : Galaxy 18 C- 5150
123.0W : Galaxy 18 KU- 10750
125.0W : AMC 21- KU-10750
125.0W : Galaxy 14- C-5150
127.0W : Galaxy 13- C -5150
127.0W : Horizon 1- KU- 10750
129.0W : Ciel 2- KU-11250
131.0W : AMC 11 C-5150
133.0W : Galaxy 12- C-5150
135.0W : AMC 10- C-5150
137.0W: AMC 7 C- 5150
139.0W : AMC 8 C- 5150

Magic Static
09-05-2011, 10:24 AM
Ok a typical C/Ku LNBF ie ESX741 LOF1 = 5150, LOF2 = 10750, tone switch11700 . I'm actually using a Dual Orthomode Feed on a WNC SW48 switch, but those are the settings I need. I can set it up with seperate C and Ku lists but would be a lot easier to do it Like I do on the computer with the correct LOF settings for the LNBF.

Magic Static
09-08-2011, 07:19 AM
Well I guess the AZbox won't do a C/KU lnb. Bummer. I thought this was one of the better STBs.

AcWxRadar
09-09-2011, 08:38 PM
Magic,

The AZBox will work with a C/Ku LNBF combo... It is the support of the switch between the two that is your problem.
You will have to research and acquire a multi-switch that the AZBox likes and that also works with your C/Ku LNBF.

RADAR

putney
09-09-2011, 08:44 PM
Ok a typical C/Ku LNBF ie ESX741 LOF1 = 5150, LOF2 = 10750, tone switch11700 . I'm actually using a Dual Orthomode Feed on a WNC SW48 switch, but those are the settings I need. I can set it up with seperate C and Ku lists but would be a lot easier to do it Like I do on the computer with the correct LOF settings for the LNBF.

You will need separate Ku C list. You can not assign two LNB feq within one sat list

Magic Static
09-10-2011, 07:40 AM
Magic,

The AZBox will work with a C/Ku LNBF combo... It is the support of the switch between the two that is your problem.
You will have to research and acquire a multi-switch that the AZBox likes and that also works with your C/Ku LNBF.

RADAR
The switch only needs the tone command at the right time(Ku Channels) , it switches V & H with voltage from the receiver. You can run the C/Ku lnbf, but both sides seperately. :( The receiver needs the ability to to change LOF between 5150 and 10750. So you are right the unit does not support that switch.


You will need separate Ku C list. You can not assign two LNB feq within one sat list
That is what I'm was doing from the start. But was hoping it would work like MyTheatre on the computer. Not the worst problem to overcome, but someday in the future there may be new firmware to fix this. (I hope)

Reigster at SatelliteGuys