PDA

View Full Version : Whole Home DVR Not Working - Need Advice



Pages : [1] 2 3

pabster892
01-30-2012, 09:26 PM
Hi folks,

Just had system installed early Dec 2011. I have a very simple setup; A single HR21-200 DVR and a single H24-100 HD Receiver in a bedroom. That's all. I have the SWiM dish and switch (?) and connected also is a Broadband Internet DECA (I believe "Cinema Connection Kit" is what it is referred to.)

So here's the deal...went online tonight, activated whole-home. Both the receiver and the DVR confirm service is authorized. But only the receiver in the bedroom has an internet connection, and of course neither unit can see the other. I'm thinking I need to order 2 separate DECA adapters to get this working? But I still don't understand why the bedroom receiver has internet access and the DVR does not. Do I need multiple "Cinema Connection Kit" as well? No way in hell I'm paying them to come and remedy this so I either get it working or just forget the Whole Home thing, not worth the money or hassle. I won't use it much, just thought it would be handy but I'm not going to get too excited over it.

Any ideas? I've tried searching various threads and forum posts but it seems very confusing. Any advice / help would be appreciated.

Thanks!

HIFI
01-30-2012, 09:58 PM
do you have a receiver deca on the back of the HR21 ?

pabster892
01-30-2012, 10:04 PM
do you have a receiver deca on the back of the HR21 ?

No I don't believe so. What is a 'Receiver DECA'? All that is on the back of my HR21-200 is the incoming (1) sat cable, the HDMI, and power. That's it.

Could you link to the part I would need and also why does the lowly HD receiver in the bedroom get an internet connection but not the HR21-200?

HIFI
01-30-2012, 10:05 PM
DIRECTV Ethernet Coax Adapter DECA (DECA1MR01) from Solid Signal (http://www.solidsignal.com/pview.asp?p=DECA1MR01&d=DIRECTV-Ethernet-Coax-Adapter-DECA--%28DECA1MR01%29)

HIFI
01-30-2012, 10:07 PM
H24 has the deca built in the HR21 is an older version that was pre deca.

pabster892
01-30-2012, 10:19 PM
H24 has the deca built in the HR21 is an older version that was pre deca.

Ah, ok. So just one of those connected to the HR21 will fix this? Strange that a basic HD receiver has it and an HD DVR does not. I guess you live and learn. Is the power supply required or can the HR21 operate it on its own?

HIFI
01-30-2012, 10:23 PM
the deca plugs into the hr21 and then the sat cable plugs into the deca. the deca will also have about a 6" network cable that goes from the deca to the hr21 ethernet port. you may have to go into network setup on the hr21 once the deca is installed.

pabster892
01-30-2012, 10:28 PM
the deca plugs into the hr21 and then the sat cable plugs into the deca. the deca will also have about a 6" network cable that goes from the deca to the hr21 ethernet port. you may have to go into network setup on the hr21 once the deca is installed.

Makes sense, looks like an easy fix. I just want to make sure I won't need anything else, like some sort of adapter or device for the H24 in the bedroom as well - to get whole home DVR up and running...also do you know about the power adapter thing on the DECA? It says it can be powered by some receivers but it lists HR21-100 as needing power and some other B-band thing to work, does that apply to the HR21-200 that I have as well?

Sorry I'm just a little confused on the whole-home DVR thing. Seems like it should be pretty simple but I'm having trouble grasping it.

HIFI
01-30-2012, 10:30 PM
thats for the hr20, you have the hr21 correct?

HIFI
01-30-2012, 10:34 PM
73702 check this diagram out.

Reigster at SatelliteGuys