PDA

View Full Version : Newbie, Coolsat and Viewsat test.



johann12
02-10-2012, 08:24 PM
I am a newbie.
I got the free Coolsat 7100 and Viewsat Ultra VS 2000.

I used the turbo HD dish that dishnetwork left behind. Stationary dish
LNBF, ESX522
Link to ebay (http://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-Dual-Twin-Double-Standard-Ku-Band-FTA-LNBF-0-2dB-LNB-Bracket-Holder-/330658537941?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item4cfcc8e1d5) where I bought it. Bracket sucks and I had to modify the bracket to get the focal correct for the dishnetwork dish.
Target satellite was galaxy 19.
Weather, Sunshine, no clouds, no wind.
No switch, coax straight to receiver.

Coolsat blind scaned about 320 channels.
Viewsat blind scaned about 420 channels.
Coolsat scaned way faster than Viewsat. This could be due the difference of the amount of channels scanned.
Viewsat scanned way more pay channels even though I scanned for FTA ONLY.

Quality and signal strength was higher with coolsat.
Viewsat breaking up on many channels, while coolsat has still about 45-50% strenght and very good picture on same channels and setup.

Coolsat is showing channel error on some channels. I had no picture , but I had sound.
Why does it show a channel error and what is causing it ?

Both, Coolsat and Viewsat had douple channels..Why, I do not know.


2nd experiment.......
Coolsat receiver only and a dishnetwork 500 dish.
LNBF and target satellite as above.
No switch.
Blind scan and got 24 channels, but good picture, low signal at about 24 %.

Very, very, difficult to aim the 500 dish ( 1hr.) to get any signal.
500 dish is not recommendet at all, specially for a newbie like me.

Bongu
02-10-2012, 11:50 PM
If you are not running Factory Firmware on the receivers, that could explain some of your difficulties. If you do not have the factory firmware in either ogf these receivers, I highly recommend it. I believe the factory firmware for both of these receivers is posted on this site.

I have had experience with Coolsat and Viewsat and they are both fairly sensitive on the blind scans. The quality meter on the Coolsat is over inflated for the most part. With a viewable picture on the Viewsat reading 25% quality, the Coolsat can read 60% or even higher. Coolsat did this to make people believe the quality was actually higher than it really is.

Why did you get double channels? Is your skew set up right? The ESX522 is a standard linear Ku LNBF so it shouldn't be related to high and low band signals or RH or LH polarities being read twice. to get the double channels on both H and V transponders, you will typically find the skew is about 40 to 50 degrees out. You will receive some channels, bu you can do a lot better. 97 has some pretty hot transponders across the CONUS.

IIRC, the 500 is about a 24" dish and is way below the recommended 30" minimum for FTA reception. Some people use a small dish with good results, but they are usually using a single output LNBF or a higher quality LNBF. The ESX522 is a decent quality LNBF and is probably one of the better dual output ones in that price band.

Jim S.
02-11-2012, 09:18 AM
Coolsat blind scaned about 320 channels.
Viewsat blind scaned about 420 channels.
Coolsat scaned way faster than Viewsat. This could be due the difference of the amount of channels scanned.
Viewsat scanned way more pay channels even though I scanned for FTA ONLY.

Quality and signal strength was higher with coolsat.
Viewsat breaking up on many channels, while coolsat has still about 45-50% strenght and very good picture on same channels and setup.

Coolsat is showing channel error on some channels. I had no picture , but I had sound.
Why does it show a channel error and what is causing it ?

Both, Coolsat and Viewsat had douple channels..Why, I do not know.



I think there are 218 video channels in the clear, and 268 total, the last time I scanned it.

Some of the channels are actually on more than one transponder (Coptic TV comes to mind), but you're definitely getting duplicates if you have over 300 scanned.

Which channels are giving you sound but no video? There are a few that are MPEG4 video, but I don't remember which ones, and there are two Laotian channels that are listed as not encrypted but don't give me any video even on my MPEG4 receiver, yet other people say they can see them on theirs, so I don't know what's going on with those.

johann12
02-11-2012, 03:05 PM
Firmware that I downloaded here and installed for coolsat v1.16 and for viewsat ultra 1.43.
Scew is 23 right per dishpointer, so I turned it right standing behind dish.
The turbo Hd and the 500 is/was set without any skew when testing. I am only using the turbo hd dish right now.

Jim I will list some of the channels at a later time, my wife wants to go shopping with me so I have to keep her happy:).
But it was with coolsat.

Jim S.
02-11-2012, 03:32 PM
The last time I used a Coolsat, it listed MPEG4 channels as radio instead of TV, but maybe yours has a different firmware version. Or they could've only had the video scrambled and not the audio. Let me know what channels they are when you get a chance.

turbosat
02-11-2012, 06:16 PM
I think one hour for a real newbie to hit g19 is pretty good with a dish500 dish, lol. I remember doing that with the Fred Sanford bracket I made for the linear lnbf, and it WAS painful trying to hit anything.

johann12
02-18-2012, 12:04 AM
Sorry guys for not responding sooner. This was a week, I rather would not repeat again.
I deleted all those channels except a very few. Put I will do a a blind scan again tomorrow.
Here are the ones I did not delete yet.
Dopple no picture, but I have sound
Rang A Rang TV 11026H 21972
Rang A Rang TV 11974H 22000
No picture, but I have sound
Arman TV 11119H 19992
I had a lot more channels like this.
I do not care about those channels, but I sure would like to know what causing it.
Do you folks think that these older receivers can not handle the newer form of frequencies?

AcWxRadar
02-18-2012, 06:00 AM
Johann,

You have something wrong with your LNBF settings, I suspect.
The two transponders that you listed for the Rang A Rang channels do not match the real world frequencies.
There truly are two Rang A Rang channels. They are different channels in some way, so they are not actually duplicates.
Rang A Rang TV is on TP 11867 V SR 22000
Rang A Rang is on TP 12028 H SR 22000

The TP frequencies that you listed in your previous post (11026 H and 11119 H for the Arman Channel) are not valid frequencies for this satellite. The Ku band proper frequency band for G19 should be between 11700 and 12200 MHz. So you either have a bad LNBF (the L.O. is way off) or your selected L.O. frequency in the receiver menus is incorrect. It should be 10750 MHz (10.750 GHz).

If you determine where the error lies and correct that, it should correct a lot of other troubles for you with the other true duplicate channels.

RADAR

johann12
02-18-2012, 09:54 PM
Here is the setting at the antenna set up menu.
Satellite ...........galaxy 19
Lnb power........ON
LNB type..........standard
Frequency........10600
22khz..............off
TB frequency....11789
diseq...............none
motor..............off

It looks like the frequency is set to 10600 and per your data it should be 10750 if I understood your info right.
Thank you very much.
I will do a factory reset and set it to 10700 and scan it again and I will see if this will solve the problem.


I rechecked the data on the arman tv channel. This is the exact data my receiver is displaying for this channel

AcWxRadar
02-19-2012, 05:00 AM
Here is the setting at the antenna set up menu.
Satellite ...........galaxy 19
Lnb power........ON
LNB type..........standard
Frequency........10600
22khz..............off
TB frequency....11789
diseq...............none
motor..............off

It looks like the frequency is set to 10600 and per your data it should be 10750 if I understood your info right.
Thank you very much.
I will do a factory reset and set it to 10700 (◄ hope that 10700 was just a typo) and scan it again and I will see if this will solve the problem.


I rechecked the data on the arman tv channel. This is the exact data my receiver is displaying for this channel

I your transponder frequency problems and many of the duplicate channels will go away for you when you reset the L.O. to 10750 MHz.

RADAR

Reigster at SatelliteGuys