PDA

View Full Version : Hooking up 2 receivers



schofield765
02-09-2012, 06:23 PM
Can anyone give me info on how I can connect both my 5900 PVR and a 9241 HD PVR. Connection so far- 2 Dual LNB's each connected to SW21, 2 RG6 cables going into house and both plugged into 9241 HD PVR. Can I split off one of the RG6 ( with a switch ) and connect it to 5900 PVR? Any info would be great thank you.

Kynoch
02-09-2012, 09:56 PM
You would need to replace your SW21 with a SW44 and run a new line from your 5900 PVR to the SW44. The lines cannot have splitters after the switches.

schofield765
02-16-2012, 10:50 PM
You would need to replace your SW21 with a SW44 and run a new line from your 5900 PVR to the SW44. The lines cannot have splitters after the switches.

Ok i will look into that. Thank you very much

Iceberg
02-16-2012, 11:08 PM
yeesh. Why use old technology?

Get a DishProPlus Twin LNB and a separator. It has a built in switch and the dual tuner units only need one line

LNB output from 1------------------------separator---both tuners on the 9241
LNB output from 2--------------------------------5900

this is the DPP Twin
Dish Network Dish Pro Plus LNB | eBay (http://www.ebay.com/itm/Dish-Network-Dish-Pro-Plus-LNB-/330686258150?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item4cfe6fdbe6)

and the separator
NEW DISH NETWORK DISH / BELLVIEW PRO PLUS DPP SEPARATOR | eBay (http://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-DISH-NETWORK-DISH-BELLVIEW-PRO-PLUS-DPP-SEPARATOR-/140697877190?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item20c23f3ac6)

Slartibartfarst
02-17-2012, 02:38 PM
Yep, that is simplest way now to connect 2 receivers for sure.

Just replace BOTH LNBF's, remove the SW21, run 1 line to each Receiver, add the DPP Separator behind the 9241 and away you go. No Dish re-alignment as long as you don't move it when removing the old LNBF's.

Kynoch
02-17-2012, 04:12 PM
Your both right the DPP is easier, i just figured it might be easier to get a SW44.

Slartibartfarst
02-18-2012, 03:12 PM
True enough the price for SW44's is certainly low now, so it would be a cheap way to do it for sure.

Reigster at SatelliteGuys