Results 1 to 10 of 81
Thread: Bad People Selling Clones!
- 08-10-2011 08:54 PM #1
Bad People Selling Clones!
ADVERTS 1
My Openbox S9 showed up today. Interesting unit. Had to "play" with it for a short time to see if it could find anything. It did OK. Then I cleaned it all up and put it back in the box and Emailed the seller I needed a total refund 'cuz he sold me a &%$##@#%$ CLONE!

People like that should be in jail.
Has anyone done business with or purchased one from shop4fta? I was thinking of getting one from them if it is a known "safe" place to buy from.
Another question is what goes in that large slot in the front of the unit?(below the card slot)
RT.
- 08-10-2011 08:54 PM # ADS
Register Today & This Ad Goes Away! Circuit advertisement- Join Date
- Always
- Location
- Advertising world
- Posts
- Many
- 08-10-2011 09:53 PM #2
So how can you tell it is a clone.I'd like to know.
I've seen shop4fta all over ebay.I imagine if the feedback is good,so is thier merchandise.
So,are you gonna tell us where you got the clone so nobody else gets ripped?
I read in here that most are clones.Maybe that's why they are so cheap.
I've got a s9 myself
- 08-10-2011 10:10 PM #3
- Join Date
- May 30th, 2011
- Location
- Cold, Cold,Michigan USA
- Posts
- 867 Thread Starter
Goto Menu -> tools-> information now press 777777 on remote. Some firmware requires 8888. If the CCID is one of the following 00D0, 00EA, 085B, 0D0C, 98A1, 98f2, 9CF4, 9D1A you have a good receiver. Anything else and an update may kill the unit.
My new unit was 0202 - bad.
RT.
- 08-10-2011 10:48 PM #4
my s10 just received from ebay (but not from shop4fta unless they use several different ebay IDs) appears to be a clone also (chip ID D000 not in the list). I don't know how to prove it's a clone because you never know if my receiver was made in a new batch and might be legit but not have its chip ID added to the list that was last updated in June.
seems to blind scan, tune signals fine so I don't think I can complain much (other than how the standby/power is acting funky and that I can't do a firmware upgrade because it probably will brick it if it's indeed a clone and then who knows if I can get a refund or file a fraud thing with paypal, etc with enough proof to say it's a clone). If there were more ways to tell other than the chip ID, proving fraud from being sent a clone might be easier to do.
I'll jsut leave feedback and note that the box "appears" to be a clone because the chip ID is not in the list of genuine chip IDs. Maybe that will alert future buyers to the fact the ebay seller might be selling clones.
- 08-11-2011 05:44 AM #5
Why not contact the manufacturer directly and ask about it?
Winegard 1M on a Sadoun DG380 HH motor at 63.5W
Canadian Satellite Antenna Systems 10.5' BUD - 37.5 to 125W, dual-ortho Chaparral w/Norsat 8515s
AzBox Elite, Coolsat 5000, StarTrak 6 Analog, GBox 3000
Avcom PSA-45D Spectrum Analyzer
- 08-11-2011 06:30 AM #6
- Join Date
- May 30th, 2011
- Location
- Cold, Cold,Michigan USA
- Posts
- 867 Thread Starter
I read on another fourm a member there had a unit with that ID and many stated there it was "bad." As for where these ID's come from is from others that know much more about this problem than I do. Mine was from Ebay and if the seller does not reply I will start a complaint with them.
If you are a bootleg manufacture in China, are you going to tell someone the truth? Not likely. Or even answer.
RT.
- 08-11-2011 06:52 AM #7
My OpenBox S10 CCID is 5f7d
- 08-11-2011 09:12 AM #8ROTFL....... I love starting each day with a good laugh!
Originally Posted by cracklincrotch
From the looks of the trade sites, every factory that used to make knock off Nike shoes are now "The Manufacturer" of Openbox.
Brian Gohl - Satellite AV, LLC (Gold Sponsor)
Equipment Development / Distribution / Repair / Call Center
888-483-4673 - http://www.satelliteav.com
eBay Special Deals
Attention Installers: Want more work? Join the Largest Satellite Technician Referral Website - www.FTAinstall.com
- 08-11-2011 09:20 AM #9
What's the wholesale price on the Openbox, Brian? Ballpark.
Member
Friends of Montana PBS
- 08-11-2011 09:38 AM #10
Hummm, I just checked the one I bought from another member here and it is 0200??? I guess it wasn't such a good deal after all then and that is probably the real reason he unloaded it! He claimed that he bought it from that guy that runs the "other" FTA forum, who is "suppose" to be a reputable dealer???
So let me see if I understand this correctly. If I've got a "clone" S9 and I try to update the firmware in it to get rid of the green tint problem I have then there's a good chance it will turn into a brick????10 ft Winegard, DMX-741S LNBF, VonWeise Mover, AZBox Ultra/Openbox S9 and PowerMax Vbox X.
7.5 ft SAMI, DMX-741S LNBF, SuperJack Mover, AZBox Elite/Openbox s9 and PowerMax Vbox X.
AND RANDY WILLIAMS (lying MOFO) GAVE MY 12FT CONIFER DISH TO SOMEONE ELSE!

23Likes
LinkBack URL
About LinkBacks
Reply With Quote
Bookmarks