Welcome HOME to SatelliteGuys! We are America's Most Popular Satellite Forum!

        

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 6 of 7

Thread: Hooking up a DVR with HDMI Cable

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 23rd, 2006
    Posts
    12
    Post Thanks / Like

    Hooking up a DVR with HDMI Cable

    I am having a problem hooking up my Sony DVP-NS70H player to a Sony KV30HS420 Tv using a HDMI cable. My satellite HDMI works when connected to in tv input using the HDMI port, but when I hook up the DVD player using the HDMI I get nothing.
    I have tried using different cables and even another DVD player all with the same results.
    Calls to Sony have proved to be useless. Has anyone encountered this same problem? Does anyone have any idea on how to fix this problem?
    Thanks.


  2. # ADS
    Register Today & This Ad Goes Away! Syndicated Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Posts
    Many

    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
     
  3. #2
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! SatinKzo did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, SatinKzo did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, SatinKzo did! Be COOL like SatinKzo and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    May 22nd, 2004
    Location
    ArkLaMiss
    Posts
    5,985
    Post Thanks / Like
    Does the dvd player have a output selection does it? I have a DVD player that you have to chose the output jack and by default, it is not HDMI. Have you tried hooking up component or anything else?
    The angels have the phone box.

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 23rd, 2006
    Posts
    12
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter
    The dvd player dose not have any switches on the back to toggle between HDMI or Component. The HDMI light on the front doesn't light up to indicate that it's hooked up and working.
    Yes we have hooked it up using component wires and it does work going this route but that is not why I bought this unit.
    We have contacted Sony and have yet to get a reply from them as to weather there is a new firmware update to either the player or the tv.
    I just thought maybe someone here has had this same problem.

  5. #4
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! SatinKzo did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, SatinKzo did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, SatinKzo did! Be COOL like SatinKzo and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    May 22nd, 2004
    Location
    ArkLaMiss
    Posts
    5,985
    Post Thanks / Like
    I don't mean switches on the back.

    I have an LG and I have to select on the front panel through a convoluded menu what output I want to use. By default it was only Component, 720p. I had to change it to DVI 1080i. Took me a bit to realize what was wrong.
    The angels have the phone box.

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 24th, 2005
    Location
    Port Hope, ON Canada
    Posts
    1,404
    Post Thanks / Like
    As HDMI has handshaking involved, sometimes the sequence of powering up can cause the handshaking to fail and result in no signal being output. My cable box and TV have this issue. I have to turn the TV on, wait a few seconds (but not too long) then power on the cable box to get the HDMI output to work.

  7. #6
    Join Date
    May 5th, 2007
    Location
    Salem, OR
    Posts
    8,393
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by WdStock45 View Post
    My satellite HDMI works when connected to in tv input using the HDMI port, but when I hook up the DVD player using the HDMI I get nothing.
    I had the same problem with a Toshiba DVD recorder. When powered down, the player reverts to 480i mode and will not display on the HDMI port (or if it does, the TV won't display it). I found that I either had to do some blind remote button presses on the DVD player or leave it on all the time.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •