Welcome HOME to SatelliteGuys! We are America's Most Popular Satellite Forum!

        

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 6 of 7

Thread: Losing sound when switching channels SD/HD doesnt matter.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 9th, 2008
    Posts
    1
    Post Thanks / Like

    Losing sound when switching channels SD/HD doesnt matter.

    Has anyone experienced lose of sound when switching to a new channel. The picture comes up but with no sound. I have the H20-700 and I'm not sure if its with my receiver or TV getting stupid. Sometimes switching back to the previous channel and back to the new channel will correct the sound. I'm using the HDMI cable connected to my Sony Wega.

    I did have a Sony HD300 using the HDMI cable connected to the same TV and every now and then when switching channels the picture wouldn't come up. It seemed that was related to switching between SD/HD channels and either the TV or receiver not changing correctly. Powering off either unit fixed it but I always assumed it to be a TV problem.


  2. # ADS
    Register Today & This Ad Goes Away! Syndicated Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Posts
    Many

    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
     
  3. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 22nd, 2004
    Location
    Binghamton, NY
    Posts
    4,014
    Post Thanks / Like
    If you are referring to an AV receiver, many of them need to reacquire what type of audio is being received and then lock on. This could be a probelm with your AV receiver.
    HR23-700, HR24-500/AM21, Samsung UN46C6500

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 9th, 2008
    Posts
    193
    Post Thanks / Like
    Some receivers can be set to a specific source type Auto/PCM/DD/DTS. I think I'll give that a try on mine to see if it speeds things up. I'd guess though that the D* receiver would always pass the same source?

    If you only have audio hooked to the TV it probably needs to be set to PCM.

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 8th, 2008
    Location
    Mordian Gaol
    Posts
    165
    Post Thanks / Like
    This is a software issue with DirecTv, and specifically the HD DVR's. They were very slow to let anyone know about it as our our office just found about it approx 2 weeks ago but it was documented by engineering around December 7th 2007. The are working on a work-around or solution to it but nothing as of yet. The reported problems have been audio not being in synch with the video, and audio drop-out, like if someone was keying a mic for a second or two, then releasing it, repeatedly. It is NOT, so far as we have been told, a reciever/hardware issue. I'll expand on this if I can find out a little more info on it.

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 9th, 2008
    Posts
    193
    Post Thanks / Like
    I've seen the audio drop a few times. Not enough to be a major issue but I've seen plenty mentions of that issue here as well. I don't have an issue switching channels unless it's to a on demand menu.

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 21st, 2005
    Location
    Riverside, Ca
    Posts
    1,341
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by michaelbudney View Post
    Some receivers can be set to a specific source type Auto/PCM/DD/DTS. I think I'll give that a try on mine to see if it speeds things up. I'd guess though that the D* receiver would always pass the same source?

    If you only have audio hooked to the TV it probably needs to be set to PCM.
    We get the delay in sound coming on with or without the AV receiver. I just checked and the TV with the sound coming from the HR21 with composite cables is set to PCM and still has the delay. It has to be the receivers that are causing it. I can live with it by hitting the back button coming out of pause or skip.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •