Welcome HOME to SatelliteGuys! We are America's Most Popular Satellite Forum!

        

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 6 of 8

Thread: Dish Network Installation/Wiring

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 20th, 2008
    Posts
    2
    Post Thanks / Like

    Dish Network Installation/Wiring

    Hi Everyone,

    My family is planning on moving from Comcast cable to the dish network within the next few weeks. I have a little bit of a dilemma though. My dad works in telecommunications, so he will NOT let anyone else run wiring through our house. Apparently when the Dish guys come to do the installation, they are pressed for time, and aren't worried about how well they run the wires, they just want to get it done, and get it done quick. So now I need to give myself a crash course on satellite dish wiring. If you guys can help answer a few questions, I would greatly appreciate it.



    A little background information:
    We are getting the setup for four televisions in the house. They are going to sell us two dish322 receivers, which are capable of supporting two televisions each. Also, I don't need to know anything but where the wires need to be run. I just need to run the wires so that when the dish guy comes, he doesn't need to run any wires. He will hopefully just have to make a few connections.

    Question One:
    I have noticed that each receiver has two inputs from the satellite dish. Would I be correct to assume that two RG-6 coaxial cables will need to be run from the location of the satellite dish, to the location of receiver one, and another two coaxial cables from the satellite dish to the location of receiver two?

    Question Two:
    For the second television connected to either receiver, would it be better to run coaxial cable from the receiver to the television, or would it be more advisable to run RCA cable to the second television? The only reason I ask is because I've noticed that the second television coax connection only supports mono sound. Seems a little weird, IDK. But would it make a difference to run one or the other?

    Question Three:
    Regarding the antenna for the second television connected to either receiver, should the antenna be placed in the room with the receiver, or does a cable need to be run to the room that the second television will be located in for control. I read that the remote can make a connection up to two hundred feet, so I don't really see it being an issue to just put the antenna in the room with the receiver.

    I would love any helpful tips as well.

    Thank you so much for all of your help,
    -Kyle

  2. # ADS
    Register Today & This Ad Goes Away! Syndicated Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Posts
    Many

    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
     
  3. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 16th, 2005
    Location
    Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
    Posts
    883
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by KyleFx View Post
    Hi Everyone,

    My family is planning on moving from Comcast cable to the dish network within the next few weeks. I have a little bit of a dilemma though. My dad works in telecommunications, so he will NOT let anyone else run wiring through our house. Apparently when the Dish guys come to do the installation, they are pressed for time, and aren't worried about how well they run the wires, they just want to get it done, and get it done quick. So now I need to give myself a crash course on satellite dish wiring. If you guys can help answer a few questions, I would greatly appreciate it.

    A little background information:
    We are getting the setup for four televisions in the house. They are going to sell us two dish322 receivers, which are capable of supporting two televisions each. Also, I don't need to know anything but where the wires need to be run. I just need to run the wires so that when the dish guy comes, he doesn't need to run any wires. He will hopefully just have to make a few connections.

    Question One:
    I have noticed that each receiver has two inputs from the satellite dish. Would I be correct to assume that two RG-6 coaxial cables will need to be run from the location of the satellite dish, to the location of receiver one, and another two coaxial cables from the satellite dish to the location of receiver two?

    Question Two:
    For the second television connected to either receiver, would it be better to run coaxial cable from the receiver to the television, or would it be more advisable to run RCA cable to the second television? The only reason I ask is because I've noticed that the second television coax connection only supports mono sound. Seems a little weird, IDK. But would it make a difference to run one or the other?

    Question Three:
    Regarding the antenna for the second television connected to either receiver, should the antenna be placed in the room with the receiver, or does a cable need to be run to the room that the second television will be located in for control. I read that the remote can make a connection up to two hundred feet, so I don't really see it being an issue to just put the antenna in the room with the receiver.

    I would love any helpful tips as well.

    Thank you so much for all of your help,
    -Kyle

    #1 - Just 1 cable needs to be run from the dish to each receiver. Most likely you will have a DPP twin which uses a DPP seperator (included in 322) thats allows both tuners to use the one cable.Many people opt to use more than 1 cable as for future use. The older LNBF's had to use 2 cables, but no longer.

    #2- You will need 1 cable from each of the TV2 sets to the receivers. You can use RCA cable if you wanted to. Your right it is mono sound with the coax.

    #3- Normally the remote antenna is just screwed to the back of the 322. The remotes usually work just fine this way. If for some reason they dont you can then extended the cable or if using coax you can combine it in the line going to tv2. Normally this is not needed though.

    Let us know if you have more questions.
    _____________________________________________________________

    "Yes yes you like distant signal, very good I get you that sir" - Chris Walker 11/30/06 - Priceless Quote....

    Dish Network - The leader in HD BS

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 20th, 2008
    Posts
    2
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by WiCkeDuDe View Post
    #1 - Just 1 cable needs to be run from the dish to each receiver. Most likely you will have a DPP twin which uses a DPP seperator (included in 322) thats allows both tuners to use the one cable.Many people opt to use more than 1 cable as for future use. The older LNBF's had to use 2 cables, but no longer.

    #2- You will need 1 cable from each of the TV2 sets to the receivers. You can use RCA cable if you wanted to. Your right it is mono sound with the coax.

    #3- Normally the remote antenna is just screwed to the back of the 322. The remotes usually work just fine this way. If for some reason they dont you can then extended the cable or if using coax you can combine it in the line going to tv2. Normally this is not needed though.

    Let us know if you have more questions.
    I can't say thank you enough. I think that's all the information I needed to get the wiring done. If I have any questions, I'll know where to come to though. And thanks again, your help really is appreciated.

    -Kyle

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 18th, 2007
    Location
    Stern nation
    Posts
    407
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by WiCkeDuDe;1242481.

    #2- You will need 1 cable from each of the TV2 sets to the receivers. You can use RCA cable if you wanted to. Your right it is mono sound with the coax.
    Not True

    You need to run a coax from the Tv2 back to a home run, or a common location where the cables come together, Not all the way to the reciever. The feed for the 2nd tv can be diplexed with the satellite feed to the receiver.
    Did you sell a screen cleaner today?

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 8th, 2008
    Location
    Bozeman, MT
    Posts
    682
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by iwannarock1 View Post
    Not True

    You need to run a coax from the Tv2 back to a home run, or a common location where the cables come together, Not all the way to the reciever. The feed for the 2nd tv can be diplexed with the satellite feed to the receiver.
    Yes, it can be, but I think one separate cable is ideal. Less breaks in the line = less signal loss. Personally, I'll always run a new cable for TV2 if it's feasible. If you've the time and cable, Kyle, why not run two RG-6 to every location for maximum flexibility? Also, make sure they're swept to at least 2.25 GHz.

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 5th, 2007
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    3,031
    Post Thanks / Like
    Your best bet is to run 1 (2 is better) coax and one cat5 from each tv location to the side of the home where your electric panel is. (For grounding). Then run at least 2 coax from that point to where the dish is to go. (4 is better). Also, run a #10 ground wire to the dish location back to the electric. You can substitute that ground wire with a #17 copper coated steel conductor that is attached to the coax. I also recommend a plastic enclosure for all the wires on the side of the home.

    Configure the cat5 as part of your home phone system so that you can connect the receivers to phone lines.

    Also, some opt to put that wiring junction in a closet somewhere in the home. You can do that, but I recommend at least having the dish cables pass by the electric panel for grounding before extending them to an interior panel.

    EDIT: If your dad is a telecom guy, see if he can score some structured cable to wire your home with (2 coax + 2 cat5 bundled in one jacket).

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •