Welcome HOME to SatelliteGuys! We are America's Most Popular Satellite Forum!

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: How do I force a new software update?

Post Thanks / Like

How do I force a new software update?

I need some advice on how to force a software update to one of my receivers. I currently have 4 311 receivers hooked up to a Quad dish. 3 of them updated to the new P4.31 software update that was released on 3/5 for the 311's the next day, on 3/6 during the night when all 4 receivers were turned off. My fourth receiver however is still stuck on the P4.19 software release from last October. I am not a complete novice, having tried several check switches, resettting the receiver with the green power button several times, and even unplugging the receiver from the wall socket for an hour twice today. Nothing seems to work, it is still stuck on the P4.19 software release. I've noticed that when I run the check switch on this receiver, everything comes up just fine, but when I hit cancel after the test is run, my tv returns to regular programming without reloading the program guide. That doesn't seem right to me. Also, after having the receiver unplugged from the wall, when I plugged it back in, I expected it to display the error 61 screen, telling me not to touch anything while new software was being downloaded, but instead all it did was search for satellite signal for afew seconds, then downloaded the guide info, and went to regular programming, and the software release in the SYS INFO screen still showed P4.19, instead of the new software, P4.31. Interestingly, this is a replacement receiver I received from Dish about 4 months ago under the DHPP plan, so it has never been thru a software update while in my possession. Is there a way to force a software update that I have not tried yet, or do I have to request a new receiver replacement from Dish since the software will not update on this receiver at all? Thanks in advance for any suggestions. I also made sure t