Welcome HOME to SatelliteGuys! We are America's Most Popular Satellite Forum!

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Big Dish conversion to digital FTA

Post Thanks / Like

Big Dish conversion to digital FTA

Newbie here, so please excuse my lack of knowledge. I need help! I just bought a CreativeWorks CW 600 Premium FTA receiver to update my C/KU band big dish from analog to digital. Question 1: I always used an A/B switch to go between C and KU as needed on my analog system. Can the CW-41 DiSEqC Switch I received replace that A/B switch (prior to connection the "LNB IN" jack on the new receiver) - does that switch automatically do what I used to do manually switching from "A" to "B"? Question 2: I intend to gradually work my dish from one end of the satellite arc to the other, scanning for satellites and stations. Do I do this by entering my antenna settings and doing a "blind scan" each time I move my antenna to new position? My directions manual doesn't help me at all, given my lack of experience with this "new" (to me) technology. I also need help in knowing what settings to use for my antenna - C vs. KU... Can anybody help me here?

2. # ADS
    Register Today & This Ad Goes Away! Syndicated Advertisement

Reigster at SatelliteGuys

Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by FranO View Post
    Can the CW-41 DiSEqC Switch I received replace that A/B switch (prior to connection the "LNB IN" jack on the new receiver) - does that switch automatically do what I used to do manually switching from "A" to "B"?
    Yes, the DiSEqC switch will do that for you.

Question 2: I intend to gradually work my dish from one end of the satellite arc to the other, scanning for satellites and stations. Do I do this by entering my antenna settings and doing a "blind scan" each time I move my antenna to new position?
    You will need an actuator controller (
    V3000 GBox

) to move your big dish. Your receiver will nt be able to do that without the GBox.