Welcome HOME to SatelliteGuys! We are America's Most Popular Satellite Forum!

        

Page 1 of 98 1231151 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 6 of 584

Thread: How Dish's 1080p is going to work...

  1. #1
    Scott Greczkowski's Avatar
    Scott Greczkowski is online now HERE TO HELP YOU!
    Proud SatelliteGuys Staff Member

    Proud Staff Member
    Join Date
    Sep 7th, 2003
    Location
    Central Connecticut
    Posts
    82,290
    Post Thanks / Like
    Gamer IDs

    PSN ID: scottct1

    How Dish's 1080p is going to work...

    Tomorrow when you wake up Dish Network is going to have "Turbo Charged" your HD experience. What that means I have no clue, however I do know one thing 1080p will start rolling out!

    Here is how its going to work..

    You will tune to channel 501

    You will be asked if you want to order the movie in 1080p (as shown below)





    Selecting the Rent Open your receiver will then do a test to make sure your HDTV can handle 1080p resolutions. Your screen will go black for up to 15 seconds.



    If your television is 1080p compatible and passes the test your recevier will begin outputting 1080p resolution video. The screen will confirm that you want to order the event, if you select no or don't do anything within 15 seconds your screen will go black again and your resolution will drop down to its original resolution.

    If the customers television is not 1080p compatable and fails the test the following message will be shown.




    If you select yes to this your Dish Network HD DVR will downconvert the movie for you in a resolution your televsion can handle.

    And thats how 1080p will work on Dish Network. While the Turbo Charging is scheduled to start tomorrow it could be a week or two before most people see the new 1080p content made available to them.

    Enjoy the new 1080p!
    Scott

    Thinking about signing up for DISH? Use one of these codes and we BOTH save $50! - HOP019897404 - AHP046085712 - HOP017098428 THANK YOU!

  2. # ADS
    Register Today & This Ad Goes Away! Syndicated Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Posts
    Many

    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
     
  3. #2
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! tigerfan33 did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, tigerfan33 did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, tigerfan33 did! Be COOL like tigerfan33 and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    Jul 12th, 2007
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    5,683
    Post Thanks / Like
    Here's hoping that my receiver gets stuck on 1080p for everything.

  4. #3
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! navychop did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, navychop did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, navychop did! Be COOL like navychop and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    Jul 20th, 2005
    Location
    Northern VA
    Posts
    29,068
    Post Thanks / Like
    Interesting. Suppose I want to rent, and do so from my main, 61" 720p HDTV. And then want to actually watch it on my (future) 1080p smaller screen in my bedroom. How would that work? Given a ViP722 and the option of TV2 or a separate HD DVR receiver at the bedroom TV. Just learn to "rent" from the TV where you plan to watch?

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 18th, 2008
    Posts
    143
    Post Thanks / Like
    Scott!

    I have 2 displayed hooked up through an Onkyo HDMI 1.3 1080p reciever.

    Display 1 is a 720p 42inch DLP
    Display 2 is a 1080p Mitsubishi Projector.

    How will this handle this?

    If I do a 1080p movie, will my receiver be forever set to 1080p, thus screwing up my 720 p viewing? Or does it change PER view? If so I will be alright?

  6. #5
    Scott Greczkowski's Avatar
    Scott Greczkowski is online now HERE TO HELP YOU!
    Proud SatelliteGuys Staff Member

    Proud Staff Member
    Join Date
    Sep 7th, 2003
    Location
    Central Connecticut
    Posts
    82,290
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter
    Gamer IDs

    PSN ID: scottct1
    BTW for those wondering Dish Networks 1080p will be 1080p 24fps.

    I am Legend in 1080p will cost $3.

    You can find more details of the technical details by clicking the link below.


    HD War Update—Channels and 1080p :: Cable360




    Scott

    Thinking about signing up for DISH? Use one of these codes and we BOTH save $50! - HOP019897404 - AHP046085712 - HOP017098428 THANK YOU!

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 17th, 2007
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    190
    Post Thanks / Like
    So in theory I'll still be able to watch in 1080i or 720p, no?

Page 1 of 98 1231151 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •