Welcome HOME to SatelliteGuys! We are America's Most Popular Satellite Forum!

        

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 6 of 11

Thread: do i need 119 satellite?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 25th, 2008
    Posts
    40
    Post Thanks / Like

    do i need 119 satellite?

    I am looking to install Directv and want to get the Slimline dish with 5LNB's but do i really need 119? As this is blocked by a house and if i can get away without it it would be great. I am mostly interested in HD channels especially the ESPN HD family of channels.. Any suggestions?



    I see the slimline gets 99,101,103,110 and 119

  2. # ADS
    Register Today & This Ad Goes Away! Syndicated Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Posts
    Many

    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
     
  3. #2
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! charper1 did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, charper1 did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, charper1 did! Be COOL like charper1 and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    May 18th, 2004
    Location
    I'm Nationwide
    Posts
    18,442
    Post Thanks / Like
    Can you give us some details as to why another house will be blocking only DirecTV 7S at 119.0W? You should be able to easily elevate the dish to a proper height to get perfect LoS. Also, post your zip and we can give you the azimuth to be aimed and with a $12 heading compass from a Wal-Mart or sporting goods store, you can eyeball it.

    119.0 does carry some SD LiL so be sure to post your DMA.

    It also carries the following MPEG2 channels:

    72 ESPN 2 HD
    74 Universal HD
    79 HDNet
    82 WNBC-TV (NBC - New York)
    86 WABC-TV (ABC - New York)
    88 WNYW-TV (FOX - New York)
    94 Yes Network HD
    99 PPV Movies & Special Events
    400's Para Todos channels
    454 CCTV 4 America
    511 HBO Latino
    416 & 424 Fox Sports en Espaol
    Some music in the 800's & 9500's (maybe commercial only)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 25th, 2008
    Location
    Embarrassed Bear
    Posts
    828
    Post Thanks / Like
    Yea, 119 would be the last signal I would worry about tuning if all the other came in strongly. I just helped with a neighbors & thought for sure the 99/101 were obviously blocked & they were in the 90 range. While some installers call it quits if any fail I think either way you will be fine.

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 25th, 2008
    Posts
    40
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter
    72 ESPN 2 HD that i would want so i guess it would have to be installed in the back yard. Like i said i want the ESPN's in HD so i will have to place it in the back yard... But i thought i heard they were doing away with that Bird? Is their a place where their is a list of what channels are on what satellites for Directv? The List here doesn't really show whats HD and is missing the other 2 birds(103 and 99).. http://www.satelliteguys.us/thelist

  6. #5
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! charper1 did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, charper1 did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, charper1 did! Be COOL like charper1 and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    May 18th, 2004
    Location
    I'm Nationwide
    Posts
    18,442
    Post Thanks / Like
    I beleive that DirecTV also has an MPEG4 version of the ESPN HD family of channels, but if you can get the SlimLine "fully and correctly" installed; then you should do so. Don't bank on rumors of a birds demise. That is a sure fire way to get burned down the road if plans change or never come about in the first place and then it will you be the one paying to get it done right later. "Work wise ONCE rather that un-wise numerous times".

    You could try these links:


    DirecTV USA on Spaceway 2 & DirecTV 11 at 99.2W - LyngSat





    DirecTV USA on DirecTV 4S/8 at 101.0W - LyngSat





    DirecTV USA on Spaceway 1 & DirecTV 10 at 102.8W - LyngSat





    DirecTV USA on DirecTV 5 at 109.8W - LyngSat





    DirecTV USA on DirecTV 7S at 119.0W - LyngSat













  7. #6
    Join Date
    May 14th, 2007
    Posts
    33
    Post Thanks / Like
    [quote=Chrome69;1517559]72 ESPN 2 HD that i would want so i guess it would have to be installed in the back yard. Like i said i want the ESPN's in HD so i will have to place it in the back yard... But i thought i heard they were doing away with that Bird? Is their a place where their is a list of what channels are on what satellites for Directv? The List here doesn't really show whats HD and is missing the other 2 birds(103 and 99)..

    You don't need sat. 119 to get ESPN2 HD. You won’t be able to get it on 72 but you will be able to get it on 209 and that channel is MPEG 4.
    Also HD net you will be able to get it on 306 and that is MPEG 4. Those are the new channels and they are coming of sat. 99.
    I am not getting 119 and the only problem I had was that my receiver was freezing a lot with the message Multi-switch problem. That was because when your receiver is on satellite 103, 110 and 119 the program guide is coming of 119, and when the receiver is on 101 the guide is coming of 101. I am not sure about sat. 99.
    So if you watch channel that is on 103(most of the HD channels are on 103) then after a wile about 15-20 hours, your receiver will freeze because I think is not able to get the programming guide.
    The way to fix this is to tune on SD channel a lot or to program your receiver on some SD channel after midnight so it will be able to get the programming guide. I watch only HD channels so I almost never use 101, and I programmed the receiver to tune on channel 12, dally at 2:00am, and since then my receiver works great.
    The other channels that you won’t be able to get are the Spanish channels

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •