Welcome HOME to SatelliteGuys! We are America's Most Popular Satellite Forum!

        

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: How accurate is dishpointer.com?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 10th, 2007
    Posts
    41
    Post Thanks / Like

    How accurate is dishpointer.com?

    how accurate is this site? I'm getting an install done sunday and need to have the dish installed on the deck.. dishpointer seems to show tat i have a good line of sight as there are no trees in my backyard blocking the view of the dish with the next house have a max height of 100 feet..here is the picture..

    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ant1.jpg 
Views:	220 
Size:	377.8 KB 
ID:	30672  

  2. # ADS
    Register Today & This Ad Goes Away! Syndicated Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Posts
    Many

    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
     
  3. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 22nd, 2004
    Location
    Binghamton, NY
    Posts
    4,014
    Post Thanks / Like
    It might be close as the house roof is at an elevation of 35 deg. But, that's probably at ground level. Since your dish will be a bit higher, I'd say you're okay. Get a protractor and do a sighting at the 35.4 deg elevation at the dish location. You might consider putting the dish on a pole off the deck or on the roof.
    HR23-700, HR24-500/AM21, Samsung UN46C6500

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 20th, 2007
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    938
    Post Thanks / Like
    The 35.4 is the AZ/EL Mounts Setting not the Sat . He is using the 5LNB settings hich is just going to show center point. He still needs to go 19-25 degrees to the right for 119 and about 8-10 degrees lower. I would be willing to be (assuming tree height) that 119 and maybe 110 may be blocked.. but he may not need those sats, in which case a Slimline 3 LNB would work.

    What I would do OP, is have dishpointer look at each sat, vs the combo, and see where the trajectory angles are.

  5. #4
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! HDRoberts did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, HDRoberts did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, HDRoberts did! Be COOL like HDRoberts and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    May 13th, 2008
    Location
    Cleveland, OH
    Posts
    4,754
    Post Thanks / Like
    Keep in mind the line is just the imaginary center line where a multiple LNB setup points. Check each individual satellite location for LOS.

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 10th, 2007
    Posts
    41
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter
    yea i did that checked all five separately and it looks pretty good hopesully it all works out

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 10th, 2004
    Location
    Panama City / FT Walton Bch, FL.
    Posts
    443
    Post Thanks / Like
    I'm in NW Florida and used Dishpointer to set my dish up before my receivers came. Once here, they matched for all #s that dishpointer gave me. So, it seems accurate.
    Resident Jenius! DirecTV = HR20-700x2, HR20-100x2, R22-100 w/AM21Nx2, D12-300x2, Zinwell WB616, OTA=18, Knology Cable = Internet & Phone, Comcast Cable = Not Currently Subbed, Hitachi 65S700 65", 26" LED HD, 32" LCD HD, 2 Sanyo 50" Plasma HDs, Hisense 42" HDTV, Yamaha 7.1 Receiver, Sony 7.1 Speaker System

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •