Welcome HOME to SatelliteGuys! We are America's Most Popular Satellite Forum!

        

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 6 of 7

Thread: Audio Cuts Out

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 25th, 2008
    Posts
    6
    Post Thanks / Like

    Angry Audio Cuts Out

    I recently bought a new 46" Sony KDL46Z4100 HD TV and had DISH network install an HD DVR receiver for it and an SD TV and a separate SD receiver for another SD TV. I don't normally use external speakers. Ever since day one about 4 months ago, the sound goes out for about 30 seconds and then comes back or if I change channels, the new channel will have sound and then I change back to the original channel and it now has sound. This seems to happen only on HD channels and mostly on the Sony HDTV. Also, sometimes, the voice is not in sync with the video on both TVs running off of the HD Tuner. At first, I thought it was the Sony TV so I took it back and got a new one. I changed the HDMI cable between the TV and the tuner and tried different HDMI imputs on the TV. DISH has replaced everything except the newly installed cable (inspected it and said it was OK) and I get a strong signal. DISH has replaced the receiver twice. I am still having the same problem about once or more a day and it is really frustrating. The picture is great but once in awhile, there is also severe pixilation. The last technician who checked it out didn't have an answer other than trying composite cables instead of HDMI cables but I want to use the HDMI cable and feel the sound should work with it. Awhile back, I was watching the CMA show and the sound went out just on that show on all TVs for about 45 minutes. I called the local station to see if the problem was with them but they never called back. Any suggestions?


  2. # ADS
    Register Today & This Ad Goes Away! Syndicated Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Posts
    Many

    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
     
  3. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 20th, 2006
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    615
    Post Thanks / Like
    Double check your signal strength.

    Audio dropout, pixelation, and timing sync, are all symptoms of low signal strength or too much noise.

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 25th, 2008
    Posts
    6
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter
    The signal strength is strong. Today, the video and audio were out of sync until I switched channels and switched back. I guess this whole HD technolgy still doesn't have all the bugs out. In the meantime, I'll keep calling them back until they fix the problem or I cancel and try DirecTV.

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 20th, 2006
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    615
    Post Thanks / Like
    You are correct about the bugs in digital television. This is still very new technology.

    Please don't think that audio sync and pixilation issues are limited to Dish Network, though. These are common to OTA and Directv, also. Broadcaster problems are not uncommon, either. Last night, PBS was unavailable the couple of times that I checked.

    What is your signal strength when the errors occur? (What satellite & transponder?)

    Is your system properly grounded?
    Last edited by highdefjeff; 12-25-2008 at 10:27 AM. Reason: grounding

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 30th, 2008
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    I have the same problems. My signal strength is good, and the tech who installed it went to great lengths to properly ground it. Still, we have audio dropouts, audio sync problems, and occasional (very brief) video dropouts. When I call Dish, the nice Indian lady says to reboot, which I have done repeatedly with no result. Our software version is L602. This was all just installed in November.

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 30th, 2008
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    16
    Post Thanks / Like
    From what I've been reading in here, the problem is with the SOFTWARE on 622/722 HD boxes. My 622 box was working fine up until a few months ago. It looks like this is a situation where some software programmer at Dish Network tried fix some problems in a new software update (L6.14?) and messed up something else. I had an auto mechanic do this with one of my cars one time.

    You cannot get a guy at Dish Network on the phone in Engineering who works on these issues. Maybe they're all out on Xmas vacation. Who knows? Gotta wait til they get back in a few weeks and get around to putting out a version L6.16 probably. This is frustrating to say the least. If this problem continues unto February, I'm just going to cancel Dish Network and switch to DirectTV ... maybe even go back to cable.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •