Welcome HOME to SatelliteGuys! We are America's Most Popular Satellite Forum!

        

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 6 of 9

Thread: Losing HD signal but not SD

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 9th, 2006
    Posts
    30
    Post Thanks / Like

    Losing HD signal but not SD

    Hi, I have had Directv for many years but I am new to HD this past May. I am having issues where my receiver is searching for satellite occassionally on HD but if I switch to a SD channel it is working fine. I know that HD is on 99 & 103. I ran a test tonight and here are the numbers, could someone please advise me what to do. Does my dish need to be adjusted?

    In the menu it says I have a slimline-5 dish. Thanks in advance for any help.



    99c - 88 92 82 86 88 90 83 85
    88 90 85 85 92 90


    103c - 85 90 83 88 82 89 81 88
    84 90 82 89 85 93

  2. # ADS
    Register Today & This Ad Goes Away! Syndicated Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Posts
    Many

    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
     
  3. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 9th, 2008
    Location
    Eufaula, Alabama
    Posts
    257
    Post Thanks / Like
    What type of setup and equipment do you have SWM, 4x8 switch or just hooked directly to the dish?

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 9th, 2006
    Posts
    30
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter
    For HD I have a HR22-100 & H21-200. This is a new set up at a new home from May when I moved I added HD. I have the 4 lines from the dish going to the basement, it goes into some type of switch that has 4 lines coming in and up to 8 going out. I am using 7 currently that go out to the HD receivers and 2 other SD dvrs (R16-300 & R15-500).

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 9th, 2008
    Location
    Eufaula, Alabama
    Posts
    257
    Post Thanks / Like
    Considering your setup my first guess would be maybe bad BBC's. The little boxes on the back of all your receivers. There are many things it could be though. Bad LNB, switch, BBC's. I would try bypassing your switch and hooking four tuners straight to the dish and see what that does. That would at least rule out a bad switch.

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 9th, 2006
    Posts
    30
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter
    I will try that but I will have to monitor it as I said it goes out occassionally. It hasn't been just bad weather though I am in Michigan and the weather has been cold and snowy but when it went out yesterday it was pretty clear.

    So the transponder numbers I posted above look to be acceptable signal strengths?

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 22nd, 2004
    Location
    Binghamton, NY
    Posts
    4,014
    Post Thanks / Like
    Those signal strengths look good. A few in the low 80s could be tweaked, but I doubt this is your problem. Does this happen on both DVRs?
    HR23-700, HR24-500/AM21, Samsung UN46C6500

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •