Welcome HOME to SatelliteGuys! We are America's Most Popular Satellite Forum!

        

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 6 of 13

Thread: Dish HD DVR Freeze

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 29th, 2009
    Location
    Modesto, CA
    Posts
    6
    Post Thanks / Like

    Dish HD DVR Freeze

    I have this problem with my last three DVR's freezing up when replaying my recordings. Restarted and done all the updates. Is this a common hardware failure. IF so is their a better DVR. I have the new black 700 model. Recordings start to skip, freeze, get pixeliated. Could it be that I store 3/4 of hte hours on the hard drive with movies and cartoons and save them for months and months. I records and delete new should on the last 30 hours available. Is their away to defrag the hard drive. Or should i request another DVR for saved recordings.


  2. # ADS
    Register Today & This Ad Goes Away! Syndicated Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Posts
    Many

    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
     
  3. #2
    Join Date
    May 5th, 2007
    Location
    Salem, OR
    Posts
    8,403
    Post Thanks / Like
    If you're going to save recordings for months, you should consider the additional cost External USB drive option. In this way you can archive programs for as long as you want and they won't interfere with your daily activity. Further, should your DVR really fail, the external drive content won't be lost.

    I would suggest that you check and see how many timers are set. If there are several dozen, that could be a source of trouble.

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 29th, 2009
    Location
    Modesto, CA
    Posts
    6
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter
    Yeah, I have considered an external device. I just figured their should be a away to defrag so this type of thing doesn't happen if it is hard drive. I do have several timers. I will delete some. Not sure why that would interfere.

  5. #4
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! RickDee did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, RickDee did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, RickDee did! Be COOL like RickDee and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    May 22nd, 2006
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    505
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Skywalker49 View Post
    Yeah, I have considered an external device. I just figured their should be a away to defrag so this type of thing doesn't happen if it is hard drive. I do have several timers. I will delete some. Not sure why that would interfere.
    Fragmentation is minimal on Linux hard drives because Linux attempts to make the file contiguous. The OS used by Dish is Linux. I'm not saying there is none, but if you were to look at a file map of a Linux hard drive you would see the files spread around much more than Windows, but the files are not nearly as fragmented.

    Linux does suffer fragmentation, but it only really happens when the drive is almost full, and the OS needs to store files wherever they can fit.

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 8th, 2003
    Location
    NoVA
    Posts
    3,242
    Post Thanks / Like
    Sounds like your dvr is overheating. If the same problem is repeating for every dvr you get, I'd look at the environment or the signal quality and not the dvr.

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 29th, 2009
    Location
    Modesto, CA
    Posts
    6
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter

    Weird

    I got a tech coming out again to check to make sure it grounded properly from the dish. From which I can tell it is. Whic he probably won't know jack like the last guy. The box is properly ventilated on my entertainment center. I called them and made a big deal about it. Being close to Superbowl Sunday and not having DVR capabilities which i am paying for is not good. They are adding a second HD DVR free of charge to my account in case one does fail. So we will see what happens.

    Yeah, i ahve a Linux box at work and it is bug free. I think it maybe an interface issue with the Linux. I wish i could access the hard drive driectly just to see the files.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •