Welcome HOME to SatelliteGuys! We are America's Most Popular Satellite Forum!

        

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 6 of 10

Thread: Why can't I watch live TV while recording?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 7th, 2007
    Posts
    42
    Post Thanks / Like

    Why can't I watch live TV while recording?

    I have a dual tuner HD dvr from dish. Sometimes (not all the time), when i am recording a single show, it won't let me watch live TV without stopping my recording. How do i fix this?


  2. # ADS
    Register Today & This Ad Goes Away! Syndicated Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Posts
    Many

    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
     
  3. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 1st, 2006
    Location
    charlotte,nc
    Posts
    92
    Post Thanks / Like
    If yhe receiver is in single mode then you can watch live tv and record on tv 2 as the receiver need two feeds for each signal.

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 6th, 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    491
    Post Thanks / Like
    put receiver in single mode using mode button behind door...then box will act like a tivo or directv dvr, but just like them it'll be 1 tv only at that point. put back in dual to make it for two tv again

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 29th, 2005
    Location
    Greentown, Pennsylvania, United States
    Posts
    7,389
    Post Thanks / Like
    If you are recording OTA, you cannot change to another OTA channel as well. If this is your case, make sure you are changing to a sat channel.

  6. #5
    Join Date
    May 7th, 2007
    Posts
    42
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter
    Not sure if this affects things but I control another TV upstairs with this box. I would like to be able to watch one thing upstairs, and another thing downstairs. also, if i'm not watching something upstairs, i'd like to be able to watch something downstairs (on the tv with the box) while i'm recording something.

    like i said, this doesn't always happen. it seems to be something with whether it records on tv1 or tv2, but i don't understand why it wouldn't always do the same thing. i was wondering if maybe it happens if i'm recording something on tv1 at 7 to 8:02 (i usually let it record a minute or 2 over to make sure i don't miss the end of a show), then recording something else that starts at 8.

  7. #6
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! KyDave did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, KyDave did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, KyDave did! Be COOL like KyDave and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    Dec 3rd, 2003
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    664
    Post Thanks / Like
    If you hit your DVR button 3 times you will see your recording schedule, complete with which tuner will be used for each program. That will give you an idea of when you can watch LIVE TV at any given time for either TV1 or TV2. It really just depends on what is scheduled to record and where.

    Also (in case you didn't know) you can watch something recorded on the dvr ANYTIME on either tv1 or tv2 - even if something is recording on both.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •