Welcome HOME to SatelliteGuys! We are America's Most Popular Satellite Forum!

        

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 6 of 8

Thread: hd converter with fta

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 8th, 2006
    Location
    maine
    Posts
    265
    Post Thanks / Like

    hd converter with fta

    honestly i'm just starting so excuse lack of knowledge. since i will be using a standard def receiver for fta signals my ques regards hd channels. is it possible to use one of those hd converters with a fta receiver to change sd signal to hd? i didnt see any posts regarding the hd boxes (the ones sold everywhere like walmart rite aid etc). i was just curious if one of these converters could be used with a fta receiver. thanks for any input.


  2. # ADS
    Register Today & This Ad Goes Away! Syndicated Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Posts
    Many

    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
     
  3. #2
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! Iceberg did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, Iceberg did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, Iceberg did! Be COOL like Iceberg and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    Nov 17th, 2003
    Location
    Parts Unknown
    Posts
    89,735
    Post Thanks / Like
    actually those converter boxes just convert the digital signal back to analog (I have a few of them) and are not HD...they only work for OTA reception and not FTA

    you would need a HD receiver for HD chanenls
    FOLLOW THE BUZZARDS.....

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 8th, 2006
    Location
    maine
    Posts
    265
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter
    thanks Iceberg i was a little confused on how they worked. you just saved me 40 dollars

  5. #4
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! Iceberg did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, Iceberg did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, Iceberg did! Be COOL like Iceberg and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    Nov 17th, 2003
    Location
    Parts Unknown
    Posts
    89,735
    Post Thanks / Like
    no problem. I have a few of them for the bedroom TV and in the computer room. They accompany the FTA setup mainly for the local news.
    FOLLOW THE BUZZARDS.....

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 8th, 2006
    Location
    maine
    Posts
    265
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter
    Iceberg if you get the chance can you look at the dish i purchased for fta under fta shack titled "weekend project idea for large dish i purchased"? . wanted your input on it for minibub and ku. Anole has been a great help so far on this project. i'm not sure how far i have to set the clearance for this dish from my location.

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 15th, 2008
    Location
    Western Maine
    Posts
    2,029
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by outbackjack View Post
    honestly i'm just starting so excuse lack of knowledge. since i will be using a standard def receiver for fta signals my ques regards hd channels. is it possible to use one of those hd converters with a fta receiver to change sd signal to hd? i didnt see any posts regarding the hd boxes (the ones sold everywhere like walmart rite aid etc). i was just curious if one of these converters could be used with a fta receiver. thanks for any input.
    Quote Originally Posted by Iceberg View Post
    actually those converter boxes just convert the digital signal back to analog (I have a few of them) and are not HD...they only work for OTA reception and not FTA

    you would need a HD receiver for HD chanenls
    One possible way to watch HD channels on a SD TV, without the use of a HD receiver is to use a PCI card like the Twinhan 1020a. What I used to do, before I got HD hardware was to use a program called DVBAPPS (no longer supported, but still available free on the web). DVBAPPS can play HD signals in a 1/2 resolution mode, allowing it to be played on slower computers. THen, if your computer has an output to a TV (mine has an S-VID output), you can play this to your TV. Not always the best of quality, and I think the 16x9 makes for tall skinny people on a 4x3 display, but it allows you to play the video on a SD TV.
    AND, it's cheap, since the Twinhan cards can be found cheap on ebay.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •