Welcome HOME to SatelliteGuys! We are America's Most Popular Satellite Forum!

        

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 6 of 11

Thread: Tripod Mount or Pole Mount

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 19th, 2009
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    44
    Post Thanks / Like

    Tripod Mount or Pole Mount

    I ordered DirecTV yesterday by telephone. I told the CSR that I was pretty sure I would need a pole mount because of line of sight restrictions caused by trees; if my informal analysis is correct, there is no way to attach a dish to the house and have the proper line of sight to the satellites. There is one place in the yard that I think would work. I used proper magnetic compass readings and elevations to make this informal determination.



    So I explained to the CSR that I would probably need a pole mount, and I asked her to make note of that so that the installation tech would know to bring a pole. She told me that DirecTV calls a "pole mount" a "tripod mount".

    1) So, does "DirecTV tripod mount" = "DirecTV pole mount"?
    2) If they are not the same, which is best for mounting the dish in a yard?
    3) If I need a pole mount, should I call back to again specify that, or just wait for the tech to arrive for the install?

  2. # ADS
    Register Today & This Ad Goes Away! Syndicated Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Posts
    Many

    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
     
  3. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 20th, 2006
    Location
    Floyd Co. Kentucky
    Posts
    156
    Post Thanks / Like
    get a pole mounted dish you be better off. you will need to pay the installer extra to get the pole mounted. I had to paid $65 extra and I am glad I did it looks better than stuck to the side of my house. I would not want a roof mount in fear of leaks.

    I have no problem at with my HD signal dropping out either with my pole mounted dish. My sister has her dish mounted on her roof with a tripod mount and her HD channels drop out a lot. She has had the D* install out to realign her dish, but the HD still drops out. Mine I never have any drops outs on my HD channels and we have had some pretty wicked thounderstorms come through this year since my D* install last march with winds around 70 mph.

    the installer should have everything needed for a pole install, I would call back and tell the csr that you will be needing a pole install so installer will have everything on hand.

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 22nd, 2004
    Location
    Binghamton, NY
    Posts
    4,014
    Post Thanks / Like
    I just had my dish relocated from my carport roof to a pole. I determined the location for the pole and used an old almost 2" OD fence post. This was the first week for the tech, so he wasn't sure my location would work. He called his supervisor who then okayed the location.

    So, if you know where you can put the pole, DIY. Just make sure it's plumb. I did have to wrap some aluminum flashing around the pole to get a snug fit.
    HR23-700, HR24-500/AM21, Samsung UN46C6500

  5. #4
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! Jimbo did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, Jimbo did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, Jimbo did! Be COOL like Jimbo and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    Jul 14th, 2005
    Location
    NW Ohio - Buckeye Country
    Posts
    47,184
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by jdspencer View Post
    I just had my dish relocated from my carport roof to a pole. I determined the location for the pole and used an old almost 2" OD fence post. This was the first week for the tech, so he wasn't sure my location would work. He called his supervisor who then okayed the location.

    So, if you know where you can put the pole, DIY. Just make sure it's plumb. I did have to wrap some aluminum flashing around the pole to get a snug fit.
    A few self tapping screws would have worked as well
    Lets Go Red Wings !!!



    HR44-500, 2 HR24-500's, 2 HR24-100's, SL3 Dish, SWM Dish, AM21, 60" Pioneer Elite, 2 - 42" Pioneer Elite's, Sony BDP-S790


    Thinking of signing up for DIRECTV? Please PM me for my DIRECTV account number and we can both save $100 on our DIRECTV bill!

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 14th, 2009
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    3
    Post Thanks / Like
    If it is HD, you'll only be able to use a Pole Mount (Ka/Ku Dish). DirecTV does not make a Tripod for your HD Dish. Either way, a pole is better.

    You'll want it to say Pole Mount. There is a difference between to two, but a 'good tech' should always have both.

  7. #6
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! Jimbo did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, Jimbo did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, Jimbo did! Be COOL like Jimbo and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    Jul 14th, 2005
    Location
    NW Ohio - Buckeye Country
    Posts
    47,184
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by since2000 View Post
    If it is HD, you'll only be able to use a Pole Mount (Ka/Ku Dish). DirecTV does not make a Tripod for your HD Dish. Either way, a pole is better.

    You'll want it to say Pole Mount. There is a difference between to two, but a 'good tech' should always have both.
    I can't imagine a tech doing a Tri-Pod and calling it permanent.
    Nothing permanent about them.
    Lets Go Red Wings !!!



    HR44-500, 2 HR24-500's, 2 HR24-100's, SL3 Dish, SWM Dish, AM21, 60" Pioneer Elite, 2 - 42" Pioneer Elite's, Sony BDP-S790


    Thinking of signing up for DIRECTV? Please PM me for my DIRECTV account number and we can both save $100 on our DIRECTV bill!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •