Welcome HOME to SatelliteGuys! We are America's Most Popular Satellite Forum!

        

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 6 of 36

Thread: Setting up Direct TV?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 4th, 2008
    Posts
    17
    Post Thanks / Like

    Setting up Direct TV?

    Setting up Direct TV have Direct TV receiver should the settings in HDTV be native be on or off ? and corlor bar be black? should it be pillar or ?


  2. # ADS
    Register Today & This Ad Goes Away! Syndicated Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Posts
    Many

    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
     
  3. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 15th, 2008
    Posts
    151
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by sportman3 View Post
    Setting up Direct TV have Direct TV receiver should the settings in HDTV be native be on or off ? and corlor bar be black? should it be pillar or ?
    Didn't like the answers at the other forum?

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 4th, 2008
    Posts
    17
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter

    Trying get a answer pillar bars ?

    I saw in pillar bars for example like mtn sports goes back and fourth between bars and streach espn non hd goes to streach ?

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 15th, 2008
    Posts
    151
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by sportman3 View Post
    I saw in pillar bars for example like mtn sports goes back and fourth between bars and streach espn non hd goes to streach ?
    Not exactly sure I understand your question. Your TV has an aspect ratio that you can set. Some TV's allow you to adjust aspect for both SD & HD, others only let you adjust SD. Most TV's allow you to set the aspect for SD separate from the aspect for HD. So HD channels may show the bars, because they are set to 16 x9. SD channels are 4x3, but if you have the TV set to 16x9, you will get a stretched picture.

    I was waiting for one of the moderators to answer, but they must be busy.

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 4th, 2008
    Posts
    17
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter

    Pillar settings

    DIRECT TV I found settings hdtv can not find Pillar settings it will not go to lt ?

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 8th, 2009
    Location
    socal
    Posts
    381
    Post Thanks / Like
    I'm not sure what it is you're asking for but I think it depends on your TV set.

    A lot of people prefer to turn the NATIVE ON and go with the Screen Format as ORIGINAL FORMAT. I would suggest you set your Bar Color as DARK GRAY if you have plasma set.

    Don't forget to set your TV resolutions to what your set is capable of displaying. If using HDMI with the Native setting, you'll want to select 480p, 720p and higher if your set will work with those resolutions. What I like about the Native is that it doesn't do so much upscaling but lets my set do it so I get a better SD picture.

    You can try the different settings for yourself to see what your preferences are. My TV set and DirecTv HD DVR are both set to 16*9 aspect.

    As far as the pillars are concerned, there's still a lot of LETTER BOX events and I'd just get used to seeing them because the picture just doesn't look right stretched and it takes too long and too much effort to tinker with TV and STB settings trying to get rid of them.

    I'd check out the A/V forums for optimum TV settings for your individual HDTV set too. But only change user adjustable settings on your TV if you want to try someone else's settings.

    I hope that answers your questions. Good luck!

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •