Welcome HOME to SatelliteGuys! We are America's Most Popular Satellite Forum!

        

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 6 of 8

Thread: Directv2PC stopped working

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 22nd, 2009
    Location
    Memphis
    Posts
    9
    Post Thanks / Like

    Directv2PC stopped working

    The title says it all. I had Directv2PC running for over a month now, streaming over my network. It was working flawlessly.

    I tried to watch a program today and I keep getting this error message -
    DIRECTV2PC cannot connect to the receiver. The protected content cannot be played back at this time.


    Mind you it says this AFTER I click on a program in the playlist. Clearly it's connected to the receiver since it is pulling up my playlist.

    I redownloaded the advisor and d2pc. unistalled both and clean installed. Problem is not resolved.



    On the advisor I get all yellows and greens just as I did before. I haven't done any hardware or software changes since 4 days ago when d2pc was working.

    Anyone have any ideas?
    Last edited by firecaptain; 11-28-2009 at 11:21 AM. Reason: sorry if this thread is in the wrong forum.

  2. # ADS
    Register Today & This Ad Goes Away! Syndicated Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Posts
    Many

    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
     
  3. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 10th, 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1,490
    Post Thanks / Like
    Yep, same thing happened to me not that long ago.

    Mcafee incorrectly identified several of directv2pc's codecs as containing a trojan horse. I found that out when I removed and reinstalled the directv2pc software and mcafee popped up and reported the quarantine.

    I removed mcafee, reinstalled the direcvtv2pc software, and installed microsofts security essentials instead of mcafee. Besides being free, it had no incorrect problems with directv2pc.

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 22nd, 2009
    Location
    Memphis
    Posts
    9
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter
    I'm running Windows Security Essentials. No problems there.

    I rebooted AGAIN and viola! it's working.

    I think the software update is what hosed it at first, but now I have it working again.

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 10th, 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1,490
    Post Thanks / Like
    Cool. Besides the problem I had with antivirus, sometimes installing other cyberlink products like powerdvd after you've installed directv2pc can cause some issues.

    Which if thats the case, the next time you run powerdvd or whatever other cyberlink product that uses different versions of the same codec that directv uses in their product, it might stop working again but again a reboot will fix it.

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 23rd, 2004
    Location
    Directv La La Land
    Posts
    3,532
    Post Thanks / Like
    I found form personal experience that a reboot on the computers end is all that needed 90 percent of the time.

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 22nd, 2009
    Location
    Memphis
    Posts
    9
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter
    That's the problem though - this wasn't the first reboot.

    I had rebooted several times throughout the process to no avail.


    side note: today, D2PC is working except for sound. after 2 reboots, no sound. All other system sounds are operational, but no sound for D2PC.

    Quote Originally Posted by stonecold View Post
    I found form personal experience that a reboot on the computers end is all that needed 90 percent of the time.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •