Welcome HOME to SatelliteGuys! We are America's Most Popular Satellite Forum!

        

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: After 3 years with Dish Network, I finally received a replacement VIP 622 Dual Tuner

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 25th, 2007
    Posts
    3
    Post Thanks / Like

    After 3 years with Dish Network, I finally received a replacement VIP 622 Dual Tuner

    Over those 3 years, I've called Tech Support/Customer Service to complain about several issues. Each time, I was made to believe it was a known issue that could not be resolved with a new receiver. So, after years of problems, in addition to my claim that the receiver is dead, they finally sent me a replacement VIP 622 today. After installing it, everything works perfectly. No more issues. All along, I have been using a defective receiver.

    My point is, their tech support is a load of crap. I'm guessing their tech responders are instructed to never replace the equipment until it goes completely dead. Here were the major issues I experienced over the past 3 years:

    Issue 1) Closed Caption not working properly. Jumbled letters and at 5-10 seconds behind.
    Answer from Dish Network: This is a known issue and happens on all our receivers.
    Issue 2) Slingbox remote control not working with Dish Network.
    Answer from Dish Network: Not our fault. It is Slingbox's problem.
    Issue 3) VIP 622 re-boots once or twice per day by itself (not the scheduled update).
    Answer from Dish Network: This has been happening off and on with most receivers. Will have a software update soon to fix this.
    Issue 4) Info Window appears various times each time I turn on television.
    Answer from Dish Network rep visiting my home: This has been occurring since our last software update. We're working on it.



  2. # ADS
    Register Today & This Ad Goes Away! Syndicated Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Posts
    Many

    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
     
  3. #2
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! Bob Haller did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, Bob Haller did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, Bob Haller did! Be COOL like Bob Haller and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    Sep 11th, 2003
    Location
    pittsburgh pa
    Posts
    13,833
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by rshef View Post
    Over those 3 years, I've called Tech Support/Customer Service to complain about several issues. Each time, I was made to believe it was a known issue that could not be resolved with a new receiver. So, after years of problems, in addition to my claim that the receiver is dead, they finally sent me a replacement VIP 622 today. After installing it, everything works perfectly. No more issues. All along, I have been using a defective receiver.

    My point is, their tech support is a load of crap. I'm guessing their tech responders are instructed to never replace the equipment until it goes completely dead. Here were the major issues I experienced over the past 3 years:


    Issue 4) Info Window appears various times each time I turn on television.
    Answer from Dish Network rep visiting my home: This has been occurring since our last software update. We're working on it.
    Last nights tech chat mentioned the info pop up, and suggested changing the remote address, I suggest you watch a chat replay......

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 25th, 2007
    Posts
    3
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter
    I guess I'm not as versed in searching this forum as you are. Where would I go to see these archived chats?

  5. #4
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! Frank Jr. did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, Frank Jr. did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, Frank Jr. did! Be COOL like Frank Jr. and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    Apr 8th, 2004
    Location
    Cola. S.C.
    Posts
    9,970
    Post Thanks / Like
    The replay of the Charlie Chats are on channel 101. Look through the Guide on your TV for a repeat. With that said all the problems you have experienced most of us have. I am glad a new receiver cured those issues for you. A CSR should have informed you about changing your remote address. There were issues with that info screen popping up for no reason but at least with my receivers it has been fixed with an update. You may want to visit the DishNetwork Technical Discussions Forum here and browse through those threads. Welcome to SatelliteGuys.US btw.
    Last edited by Frank Jr.; 02-10-2010 at 02:59 AM.

  6. #5
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! Frank Jr. did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, Frank Jr. did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, Frank Jr. did! Be COOL like Frank Jr. and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    Apr 8th, 2004
    Location
    Cola. S.C.
    Posts
    9,970
    Post Thanks / Like
    One thing while you are still here I strongly recommend that you lock your receiver(s) with a pass code to prevent a neighbor from accidentally ordering PPV movies on your boxes with their remotes.

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 25th, 2007
    Posts
    3
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter
    Thanks. This is great!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •