Welcome HOME to SatelliteGuys! We are America's Most Popular Satellite Forum!

        

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 6 of 8

Thread: Transfer data from External Hard Drive?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 1st, 2007
    Posts
    44
    Post Thanks / Like

    Transfer data from External Hard Drive?

    Here's my problem. Had a 500GB Western Digital HD hooked up to my Dish DVR, paid the fee for hookup and worked great for months. At one point, when trying to access the HD, the circular light on the front of the HD would continuously blink. Unplugging/powering off the HD would not resolve the issue.

    I take the HD out of its case and hook up to my desktop PC. Windows does not recognize the HD. I downloaded a data recovery tool (Get Data Back). This tool does recognize the drive but am still unable to recover the data. The drive does seem to power up as I can hear/feel the drive spinning. I'm just wondering if there could be something wrong with the boot process that Dish installed on this.

    Does anyone know of a way that I could recover this data and transfer it to a new drive once I've reformatted one on my DVR?


  2. # ADS
    Register Today & This Ad Goes Away! Syndicated Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Posts
    Many

    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
     
  3. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 19th, 2008
    Location
    South Bend, Indiana
    Posts
    12
    Post Thanks / Like
    I wish I had an answer for you. I have a 1 TB Seagate Showcase USB 2.0 external HD that was promoted by Dish Network. Paid my setup fee also. Worked great for about 6 months. Now receiver will not recognize the HD with all of my saved programs on it. What's up with this? Can someone help us figure it out?

  4. #3
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! KAB did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, KAB did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, KAB did! Be COOL like KAB and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    Sep 20th, 2005
    Location
    Indy
    Posts
    14,493
    Post Thanks / Like
    Had the same problem once and tried to blame it on the DVR...they even replaced it. Turned out to be a bad power brick for the EHD.

  5. #4
    dfergie's Avatar
    dfergie is offline Proud Staff Member
    Proud SatelliteGuys Staff Member

    Proud Staff Member
    Join Date
    Sep 8th, 2003
    Location
    west of the pecos... between Otis and first contact site
    Posts
    69,060
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by murphaleen View Post
    I wish I had an answer for you. I have a 1 TB Seagate Showcase USB 2.0 external HD that was promoted by Dish Network. Paid my setup fee also. Worked great for about 6 months. Now receiver will not recognize the HD with all of my saved programs on it. What's up with this? Can someone help us figure it out?
    Try a power boot (hold the power button in on the receiver) I had a couple of drives that my 622 wouldn't recognize at times...
    SatelliteGuys working for you at CES 2014
    dfergie@SatelliteGuys.US For Breaking Satellite Industry News, Please Click Here


  6. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 1st, 2007
    Posts
    44
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter
    My issue is specifically with this just one HD. I have another identical HD that works just fine. I'm just wondering what type, if any, of boot process is installed on these by Dish when they are connected to the DVR for the first time. I know that the process reformats the HD, using Linux I believe.

    I'm just wondering if that boot process is somehow corrupt. The Get Data Back application I've tried finds the data and splits it into two partitions. The first partition is roughly 1GB, which is what I'm assuming is some type of boot file/Dish thing. The other 466GB partition is obviously the data. Now the other possibility is that there was something wrong with the external HD case, preventing it from booting up all the way (weak power maybe?).

    The power brick is out of the question since I took the same power brick from the other identical unit and it still would not boot (light would just continuously blink).

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 16th, 2008
    Posts
    221
    Post Thanks / Like
    are you familiar with windows disk management?

    roght click "my computer" and select manage

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •