Welcome HOME to SatelliteGuys! We are America's Most Popular Satellite Forum!

        

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 6 of 21

Thread: Not Getting HD Channels on DirecTV

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 21st, 2010
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    9
    Post Thanks / Like

    Not Getting HD Channels on DirecTV

    Hello. We just finished pointing the Slimline-5 dish and am getting signals from satellites 101 and 110. My buddy says we should be getting HD channels from satellite 110, but am getting only SD channels. Are we pointing at the wrong satellites? We're in Great Falls, MT. Any help for a couple of amateurs would be appreciated.


  2. # ADS
    Register Today & This Ad Goes Away! Syndicated Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Posts
    Many

    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
     
  3. #2
    Join Date
    May 10th, 2010
    Location
    home
    Posts
    261
    Post Thanks / Like
    What are the signal strengths for the 99 and 103 ? That's where the HD channels are located ? What receiver do you have ? Did you call and subscribe the DIRECTV HD channel package ?

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 21st, 2010
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    9
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter
    Hello johns70: There are no signals from satellites 99(c), (s) and 103(s), (ca) and (cb) - (what do the letters signify?). I guess we are pointing at the wrong satellites for HD channels? Do you have any suggestions for my buddy, the installer, for pointing our dish? What channels are on 110? I have the HD DVR Model HR23-700. Yes, I am subscribing to HD thru DirecTV. Thanks.

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 22nd, 2004
    Location
    Binghamton, NY
    Posts
    4,014
    Post Thanks / Like
    The c and s designate the spot beam and CONUS satellites. The a and b are for the two sat at the 103 position.

    Report the signal strengths for all satellites.
    Is the 5LNB dish selected in satellite set up?
    HR23-700, HR24-500/AM21, Samsung UN46C6500

  6. #5
    raoul5788's Avatar
    raoul5788 is online now Studebaker driver
    Proud SatelliteGuys Staff Member

    Proud Staff Member
    Join Date
    Dec 28th, 2004
    Location
    Cheshire CT
    Posts
    15,588
    Post Thanks / Like
    I'm guessing you are pointing at the wrong satellite. For the Slimline you should look at 101. 110 doesn't have any hd anymore. In fact, there aren't any video channels on 110. The hd channels all come from the 99 and 103 satellites.
    BTW, my name is Chip, Raoul5788 is just a screen name

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 13th, 2010
    Location
    Spring Grove, PA
    Posts
    514
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by A36Pilot View Post
    Hello. We just finished pointing the Slimline-5 dish and am getting signals from satellites 101 and 110. My buddy says we should be getting HD channels from satellite 110, but am getting only SD channels. Are we pointing at the wrong satellites? We're in Great Falls, MT. Any help for a couple of amateurs would be appreciated.

    Why not get a professional to set it up correctly instead of this way?

    A pro would know what satellites you need to point out, would probably use a signal meter to point at them, and you would be less likely to suffer from rain fade when it's peaked correctly.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •