Welcome HOME to SatelliteGuys! We are America's Most Popular Satellite Forum!

        

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 6 of 27

Thread: AZbox Premium boot error - Only see CHECKING after it says BOOTING - Help!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 5th, 2011
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    25
    Post Thanks / Like

    Unhappy AZbox Premium boot error - Only see CHECKING after it says BOOTING - Help!

    Hi all,

    I have a new azbox premium plus HD receiver.

    I had problems with my diseq1.2 motor settings, the box was not saving the motor positions so I always got No Signal message. (Sometimes it could work but many many times not). I thought I would downgrade to another FW and when I did that it did not find the internal HDD. I also did a Factory Reset to clean it up.



    And after that, it is not starting up! I turn it on and see BOOTING and then CHECKING. And then it only shows CHECKING.

    I disconnected the HDD and removed USB flash drive to test and same error. I can't hear the fan, i guess it comes on later?

    I tried to put latest FW on flash drive but it's not even reading the patch.bin, patch files.

    So now I am stucked with a non-working brand new premium hd plus box. I don't feel so happy so please can somebody give some advice?

    Is it possible to do a mega hard reset somehow? I read something about opening the box and reseting something there. Please explain about that!

    Thank you for taking the time and I hope for some help soon.

    Gustav

  2. # ADS
    Register Today & This Ad Goes Away! Syndicated Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Posts
    Many

    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
     
  3. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 14th, 2010
    Location
    Out there somewhere
    Posts
    837
    Post Thanks / Like
    You can try this procedure: That was posted at another azbox website:
    However given the fact you are new to all this you may want to contact whoever you bought the receiver from to explain the problem you are having, the procedure below can be very involved if you do not have any experience.

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Have the TV connected via the HDMI or SCART cable.

    Power UP the Receiver with the USB stick (loaded with the latest Patch) Inserted.

    From the Upgrade menu, choose: 4. Format application area. - This action removes the corrupt software.

    When the message "Formatting: done" is on the screen, Press the EXIT key to return to menu.

    Choose 1.USB - The receiver will then search for a valid patch.

    When found will give details of Your Version on the Receiver, and the Patch version.
    Also asks if you want to update, - press OK.

    The patch file is then extracted, with details of the progress shown on the TV screen.
    Also there is also a warning: DO NOT POWER OFF.

    After the patch is loaded, the Receiver will reboot itself, returning to the Upgrade menu.

    Choose 5. Boot without update.

    When the Receiver is rebooted, remove the USB stick.

    You can now Setup the receiver again from scratch.

    After Re-Establishing The Internet Connection within the Setup menu, also checked the Network Service screen, that the FTP Server and the Telnet Server were both be enabled.

    --------------------------------------------------
    Another option is :


    How to load USB Patch from the Front Panel.

    Switch ON your AZbox with the updated USB Stick Connected.


    The AZbox will Reboot and the Front Panel Screen will eventually display: UPDATE: USB.


    On the front panel press the OK button.


    The Front Panel will display: USB FOUND and then PATCH OK?


    On the front panel press the OK button.


    The Front Panel will display in sequence:


    EXTRACTING,
    UPGRADING,
    [1/4] 0-100%,
    [2/4] 0-100%,
    [3/4] 0-100%,
    [4/4] 0-100%,
    REBOOTING.


    Front Panel Screen will eventually display: UPDATE: USB.


    Press the DOWN button.


    The Front Panel will display: UPDATE NET.


    Press the DOWN button.


    The Front Panel will display: UPDATE OTA.


    Press the DOWN button.


    The Front Panel will display: FORMAT APPS.


    Press the DOWN button.


    The Front Panel will display: BOOT NOW.


    Press the OK button.


    The AZbox will now reboot with the Updated Patch.


    Remove the USB stick and then commence the Set-up from your TV screen and your Remote Controller.


    If this fails you can get a comprehensive guide on trying to get the receiver out of the boot-up mode by downloading a file posted
    here


    :



  4. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 5th, 2011
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    25
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter
    Thanks for the info but I tried to put the FW on a stick and load it BUT it's not working, nothing happens. It's like it's not even reading from the stick. The above instructions would probably work if i get to see the Upgrade menu.

    I sent a message to my shop for help.

    From what I experienced so far this is not so good receiver. It did not move to the satellites as my old nokia did. I wanted something for 4:2:2 feeds and thought it would work good.

  5. #4
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! AcWxRadar did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, AcWxRadar did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, AcWxRadar did! Be COOL like AcWxRadar and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    Apr 26th, 2006
    Location
    40 miles NW of Omaha. Omaha?
    Posts
    4,574
    Post Thanks / Like
    EM200,

    When you use the USB flash drive, first ensure that it is formatted in FAT32.

    Then, when you copy the patch file to that USB drive stick, have it unzipped, and then rename it. You may have to rename it as "patch" or as "patch.bin" or not rename it at all.

    Make sure that there is nothing else on the USB drive other than the patch file and that it is not within a folder on the drive.

    Renaming the file has to do with how your PC is set up. But if you try it all three ways, it won't hurt anything. Only one way will be recognized by your AZBox, the other two ways will simply be ignored completely and won't harm anything.

    If nothing is working, read around the forum here for the emergency flash or emergency recover procedure and give that a test. If that doesn't help, then return it for warranty repair.

    Also, when you get it recovered, ensure that you do NOT turn the hardware acceleration feature to ON. Not all the boxes respond the same to this setting. I recommend not using it set to ON.

    My eyes are too droopy at this time to help more, sorry, I must sleep. Look for the items I mentioned first, then come return with your results and we will work on other items.

    RADAR

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 5th, 2011
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    25
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter
    Thanks for the info again. I now formatted the stick again and put all 3 files but still nothing shows up. It says BOOTING and then CHECKING and then always CHECKING. I pushed OK many times also but that did not help either. So I can not get into the Upgrade menu.

    I looked around for more options but as I understand it's either the USB stick option or making a cable and connect it to the box from computer. I don't have such a cable...

    Or did I miss something about the procedures above: emergency flash or emergency recover procedure. If somebody could give links to these procedures it would be great.

    And Yes, I used the hardware acceleration but turned it of after a while.

    There's no other way to reset the box totally?

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 14th, 2010
    Location
    Out there somewhere
    Posts
    837
    Post Thanks / Like
    I am afraid that this is the extent of my knowledge with this problem.
    I know of another individual who has been experiencing the booting problem and they believe it was due to turning on the hardware acceleration and not turning it off.
    These receivers are kind of picky in certain areas and if none of what I posted for you helps you may consider contacting OpenSat (the people that make these receivers) to see if they can help you.

    I know of no other way to totally reset the Azbox.

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •