Welcome HOME to SatelliteGuys! We are America's Most Popular Satellite Forum!

        

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 6 of 9

Thread: Using a 1920x1080 LED computer monitor for directv

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 1st, 2011
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    1
    Post Thanks / Like

    Using a 1920x1080 LED computer monitor for directv

    Let me start with saying that I have searched the web up and down and even though there are similar post all over, nothing matches exactly what I wish to do.

    I had to move my computer/office into the bedroom with the arrival of our second child. This meant that I also lost our bedroom TV (no room for both!). I would like to buy a good LED monitor to use as my desktop computer monitor, but also as a TV to view directv programing.

    I do NOT wish to use my computer itself to watch DirecTV in any way! I only wish to use the same LCD monitor for dual purposes, and not necessarily at the same time either. If I find the right 1920x1080 monitor that has both DVI (for the computer) and HDMI (for the directv receiver) inputs and audio outputs (or built in speakers), can I hook a directv HD/DVR receiver directly to the monitor to watch DVR and live programing? Will I still need a digital TV tuner, either built in to the monitor, or externally?



    If so, how would I switch between the two of them (beyond the obvious: don't have both of them on at the same time). Since it isn't an actual TV, I don't think I can select a different input like I do with a TV to switch from Directv programing and a DVD player for instance.

    I do play a lot of computer games, so the monitor would be used more for the computer than for Directv programing.

    Or...am I going about this the wrong way, and should just get a HDTV instead and use it for my computer monitor?

    Any advice would be much appreciated!

  2. # ADS
    Register Today & This Ad Goes Away! Syndicated Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Posts
    Many

    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
     
  3. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 28th, 2010
    Location
    Lubbock, TX
    Posts
    8
    Post Thanks / Like
    Certainly you can do this. You switch between the inputs by using the controls builtin to the monitor. The Directv DVR provides the tuner. The setup works exactly like it would with a TV/DVR setup, especially if your monitor has speakers builtin.

  4. #3
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! charper1 did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, charper1 did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, charper1 did! Be COOL like charper1 and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    May 18th, 2004
    Location
    I'm Nationwide
    Posts
    18,442
    Post Thanks / Like
    make sure the TV you get is PC compatible. back in the day just being a "flat panel" didn't make it so but today it likely is not an issue. also make sure it has multiple inputs you can use. otherwise you can you a switcher or a A/V head-unit which would also provide much better sound and multi-channel audio to boot
    Last edited by charper1; 04-01-2011 at 09:41 PM.
    DirecTV HR22, H21, H23, HR20, Sanyo PLV-Z 119", Acer H5360 106", Samsung PN51D450 51", Insignia NS-51P680A12 51", Onkyo TX-NR708, Onkyo HT-R550, Yamaha RX-Z, Sony BDP-S570, Sony PS3 (x2), D-Link Gigabit Network, ViaTalk Unlimited Everything VoIP ($13/mo)

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 11th, 2007
    Location
    Northern AZ
    Posts
    154
    Post Thanks / Like
    I have this 23" Samsung in our bedroom. One of it's inputs is PC. I'm not using as a monitor. It was approx. $200 @ Costco. A 27" was also available with the same inputs but was too large for my setup. I have both DTV (HDMI) and outside antenna inputs in use.

    23" LCD HDTV Monitor | Samsung B2330HD





  6. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 5th, 2008
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    1,533
    Post Thanks / Like
    I use a LCD HDTV for my main TV and computer monitor. It works great. You just have to press the input button to change between satellite and computer views. I also run both through my home stereo and it sounds great. I'd rather do that than watch satellite on a monitor meant for a computer, but some are quite nice these days.

  7. #6
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! charper1 did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, charper1 did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, charper1 did! Be COOL like charper1 and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    May 18th, 2004
    Location
    I'm Nationwide
    Posts
    18,442
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Blueridge66 View Post
    I have this 23" Samsung in our bedroom. One of it's inputs is PC. I'm not using as a monitor. It was approx. $200 @ Costco. A 27" was also available with the same inputs but was too large for my setup. I have both DTV (HDMI) and outside antenna inputs in use.
    23" LCD HDTV Monitor | Samsung B2330HD



    Can you please post the link for the $200 ish 27"? I am interested. Do these have built-in ATSC tuner(s)? I paid $165 for my 25" PC monitor so this sparks my curiosity if it has tuner(s) as well.

    DirecTV HR22, H21, H23, HR20, Sanyo PLV-Z 119", Acer H5360 106", Samsung PN51D450 51", Insignia NS-51P680A12 51", Onkyo TX-NR708, Onkyo HT-R550, Yamaha RX-Z, Sony BDP-S570, Sony PS3 (x2), D-Link Gigabit Network, ViaTalk Unlimited Everything VoIP ($13/mo)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •