Welcome HOME to SatelliteGuys! We are America's Most Popular Satellite Forum!

        

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: 630 pvr noisy when off

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 7th, 2006
    Posts
    7
    Post Thanks / Like

    630 pvr noisy when off

    When I power off my 630 pvr the green lite goes off and it seems to be off. However, there's still either a hdd or a fan noise clearly audible. The unit stays quite warm too. Is this normal?


  2. # ADS
    Register Today & This Ad Goes Away! Syndicated Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Posts
    Many

    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
     
  3. #2
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! Iceberg did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, Iceberg did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, Iceberg did! Be COOL like Iceberg and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    Nov 17th, 2003
    Location
    Parts Unknown
    Posts
    89,930
    Post Thanks / Like
    since the 630 is a PVR I assume the hard drive is still running

    how warm are we talking? Is it ventilated enough?
    FOLLOW THE BUZZARDS.....

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 12th, 2008
    Location
    WI
    Posts
    288
    Post Thanks / Like
    even though the green light is off, the pvr is in stand-by mode. that way it can still record, receive guide updates, etc

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 7th, 2006
    Posts
    7
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter
    Thanks for the speedy replies. I now understand it's normal to have the hdd spinning and the pvr warm even when it's in "standby" mode. I guess I just have a noisy hdd Or, perhaps it's a fan, if there is one in this pvr.

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 27th, 2008
    Posts
    699
    Post Thanks / Like
    There is a fan, and that is probably the noise you are hearing.

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 7th, 2006
    Posts
    7
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter
    I've been also having some other "hangs" type problems that require unplugging to recover from. During the power on sequence I see, at one point, in the display a code "Hdn1." Does anyone know if this is normal?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •