Welcome HOME to SatelliteGuys! We are America's Most Popular Satellite Forum!

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: What do I need to get MeTV?

Post Thanks / Like

What do I need to get MeTV?

Hi everyone. New guy here with a few questions. I've been able to get ME-TV on my locals (KPBI Fort Smith) via Dish Network. Last week the channel went dark and doesn't look like it will be coming back. I live too far out and can't get the station through an antenna.

I've been tossing around the idea of buying a FTA system for a few months. What do I need to buy (Ku or C) to be able to receive ME-TV on SES 2? I'd like to have a stationary system, SD or HD does not matter but I would like to have the ability to record to external hard drive if possible.

If someone could recommend a decent stationary FTA package with all the necessary hardware, dish size and any other info I will need, it would be a help.

I thank you much.

James

2. # ADS
    Register Today & This Ad Goes Away! Syndicated Advertisement

Reigster at SatelliteGuys

Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! Iceberg did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, Iceberg did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, Iceberg did! Be COOL like Iceberg and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Post Thanks / Like
    welcome
    I broke your post off of a different thread.

KPBI got bought out by the CBS affiliate and they (CBS) put My Network on there. Right now that station is just a dupe of 5-2 which is also My (gathered the info from avsforum)

To get MeTV you would need a 6 foot dish and a free to air receiver. I would recommend a Sathawk, Solomend or Openbox. They can do HD & SD and you can hook a hard drive to it and record. MeTV uses what they call dolby digital (or ac-3) audio. Most SD only receivers would require an external audio decoder whereas a HD receiver doers not