Welcome HOME to SatelliteGuys! We are America's Most Popular Satellite Forum!

        

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 6 of 8

Thread: Hopper Remotes and My Harmony

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 8th, 2003
    Posts
    64
    Post Thanks / Like

    Hopper Remotes and My Harmony

    Well….I should've asked this BEFORE I ordered my Hopper and Joeys….oh well. So, if I understand correctly, the Hopper remote is an RF remote? Is there also an IR functionality? If it is RF only, I'm going to be a little bummed because I think my Logitech Harmony 900 is going to have trouble with that. It uses RF…but only from the Harmony to the IR blasters.



    Hmmm….what to do?

    TimR><>

  2. # ADS
    Register Today & This Ad Goes Away! Syndicated Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Posts
    Many

    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
     
  3. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 13th, 2008
    Posts
    120
    Post Thanks / Like
    Yes, both hopper and joey can respond to IR but you need to turn it on in the options.

  4. #3
    Scott Greczkowski's Avatar
    Scott Greczkowski is offline HERE TO HELP YOU!
    Proud SatelliteGuys Staff Member

    Proud Staff Member
    Join Date
    Sep 7th, 2003
    Location
    Central Connecticut
    Posts
    82,290
    Post Thanks / Like
    Gamer IDs

    PSN ID: scottct1
    When you get your receivers just go into Remote Setup and turn IR support on and you are all set.
    Scott

    Thinking about signing up for DISH? Use one of these codes and we BOTH save $50! - HOP019897404 - AHP046085712 - HOP017098428 THANK YOU!

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 8th, 2003
    Posts
    64
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter
    Just to clarify…I realize the Hopper Remote has IR - to control TV's and other aux devices. My question is, does the Hopper itself have an IR receive port so that I can control the Hopper and DVR functions through IR - or are those functions strictly controlled by RF?

    Thanks,
    TimR><>

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 8th, 2003
    Posts
    64
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter
    Thanks, Scott! I was typing as you were posting…..that is a HUGE relief!!!

    TimR><>

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 16th, 2012
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    15
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Scott Greczkowski View Post
    When you get your receivers just go into Remote Setup and turn IR support on and you are all set.
    Okay, this is my first post out here, but I want to clarify to just double and triple check what I'm reading. I just ordered an upgrade to my current system (DVR 612, with 2 211's) to a single Hopper and 2 Joey's. The big worry I have is I have a home theater where one of the Joey's will be and in there I have high end URC MX-880 remote that send signals to all devices (Dish Receiver, BluRay Player, Audio Receiver, and XBox 360) via IR codes. All the devices have a little IR extender that sticks to the IR sensor on the corresponding device.Is there an IR sensor on the Joey that I will be able to stick on of these IR senders to? I have to work with the HT installer to program the remote as the URC doesn't allow consumer programming, but I need to know if this is even going to be possible.From what I'm reading I will have to turn something on in the Joey, but what I haven't read anywhere yet is where/if there is even an IR sensor on the Joey box itself.Thank you and I apologize if this is somewhere else, I just couldn't find it.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •