Welcome HOME to SatelliteGuys! We are America's Most Popular Satellite Forum!

        

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: HR23-700 Won't Power UP

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 24th, 2009
    Location
    Ben Lomond, CA
    Posts
    9
    Post Thanks / Like

    HR23-700 Won't Power UP

    I confirmed that that my HR23-700 DVR is getting power from the wall. However, there is no standby light and it won't turn on. I believe the fuse is blown. Since I don't have maintenance service with DirecTV (and I don't want to lose the programs on the hard drive if they were to replace the DVR), I'd like to try replacing the fuse. However, while the board supporting the the power input jack has a notice on it regarding the fuse, I can't identify the fuse. It must not look like any fuse I'm used to seeing. Please help.


  2. # ADS
    Register Today & This Ad Goes Away! Syndicated Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Posts
    Many

    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
     
  3. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 18th, 2011
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    2,109
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by pwp818
    I confirmed that that my HR23-700 DVR is getting power from the wall. However, there is no standby light and it won't turn on. I believe the fuse is blown. Since I don't have maintenance service with DirecTV (and I don't want to lose the programs on the hard drive if they were to replace the DVR), I'd like to try replacing the fuse. However, while the board supporting the the power input jack has a notice on it regarding the fuse, I can't identify the fuse. It must not look like any fuse I'm used to seeing. Please help.
    I wouldn't open it up. By doing so you may end up buying the receiver out right. I would eat the lost recordings and have Directv swap the receiver. They'll offer you the protection plan and waive the $49 fee. Been seeing it a lot lately

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 16th, 2004
    Location
    Tenino, Wa
    Posts
    337
    Post Thanks / Like
    The unit is leased and to replace it will cost you only $20.00 for shiping. The so called protection plan is not worth the cost. If you break the seal on the back it will cost you around $500.00.

  5. #4
    raoul5788's Avatar
    raoul5788 is offline Studebaker driver
    Proud SatelliteGuys Staff Member

    Proud Staff Member
    Join Date
    Dec 28th, 2004
    Location
    Cheshire CT
    Posts
    15,587
    Post Thanks / Like
    You might try calling Directv and explaining your situation. They may give you their blessings to open it up and try to fix it. If they do, make sure to get conformation in writing, like by email. If not, like ClemSole said, it will cost at most $20, the shipping to replace it. They may not charge you the shipping if you ask. Also, make sure they don't extend or renew your commitment if they replace the dvr.
    BTW, my name is Chip, Raoul5788 is just a screen name

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 27th, 2012
    Location
    Pokey
    Posts
    256
    Post Thanks / Like
    Get a replacement, they will send you a refurbished one for 19.95, if you ask nicely maybe they will credit it.

    The refurbished receiver has a 30 day warranty, they will most likely send you a different model.

    Equipment replacements never extend contracts, only an upgrade will do that.

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 27th, 2012
    Location
    Pokey
    Posts
    256
    Post Thanks / Like
    PS- the 19.95 is the FedEx 2 day shipping charge. The equipment is no cost because it's leased.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •