Welcome HOME to SatelliteGuys! We are America's Most Popular Satellite Forum!

        

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 6 of 7

Thread: Hopper Audio Question

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 1st, 2012
    Location
    Monterey Bay
    Posts
    11
    Post Thanks / Like

    Hopper Audio Question

    Question regarding audio output. When you go to setting in the menu on audio you get decoder,mode and volume leveling. Anyone have any thoughts on how mode should be set line or rf. Volume leveling on or off. Decoder set to Dolby/pcm or PCM only. I want to get best sound quality. Thanks


  2. # ADS
    Register Today & This Ad Goes Away! Syndicated Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Posts
    Many

    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
     
  3. #2
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! Dirtydan did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, Dirtydan did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, Dirtydan did! Be COOL like Dirtydan and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    Dec 5th, 2004
    Location
    Susanville,Ca.
    Posts
    1,390
    Post Thanks / Like
    Dolby/PCM, RF, Disable Vol. Leveling...
    Dan

  4. #3
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! kwindrem did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, kwindrem did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, kwindrem did! Be COOL like kwindrem and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    May 5th, 2006
    Posts
    337
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by FranklyFred View Post
    Question regarding audio output. When you go to setting in the menu on audio you get decoder,mode and volume leveling. Anyone have any thoughts on how mode should be set line or rf. Volume leveling on or off. Decoder set to Dolby/pcm or PCM only. I want to get best sound quality. Thanks
    I'm assuming you are routing optical digital audio to an A/V receiver. In which case you want Dolby Digital if it's sent and do not want any processing like volume leveling.

    If your receiver decodes Dolby Digital, set to Dolby/PCM to take advantage of up to 5.1 channel audio.

    You probably always want "Line" mode not "RF". Previous help screens described "RF" as reducing dynamic range in some way. This may use the compression clues in the DD stream or may simply apply compression. Either way I am assuming it only works if you set the audio to PCM Only as affecting dynamic range would require decoding in the satellite receiver.

    Your A/V receiver should also have ways to limit dynamic range on DD and DTS streams.

    Volume Leveling is supposed to help compensate for overly loud commercials but I have not played around with it. Again I guess this only happens in PCM mode since it would require decoding the DD stream.

    One of the biggest volume jumps appears to happen when the program switches between Dolby and PCM audio. This often happens when a commercial comes on during a movie or other program broadcast in Dolby Digital.

    Another source of overly loud or soft program material is incorrect authoring of "dialnorm", a parameter in the DD data stream that tells the decoder what level was used for dialog. Most local broadcasters have no way of monitoring the audio stream and setting dialnorm so local broadcasts will probably be too loud or too soft. News casts from KCRA in Sacramento are much louder than other program material.

  5. #4
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! Tampa8 did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, Tampa8 did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, Tampa8 did! Be COOL like Tampa8 and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    Sep 8th, 2003
    Location
    Tampa/Eastern Ct
    Posts
    8,181
    Post Thanks / Like
    Isn't PCM uncompressed digital audio? With a receiver that decodes PCM I would have thought you would want that? With my pioneer receiver PCM gets decoded and to me has a better sound, better separation and better highs. I agree about using the line out.

  6. #5
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! kwindrem did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, kwindrem did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, kwindrem did! Be COOL like kwindrem and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    May 5th, 2006
    Posts
    337
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Tampa8 View Post
    Isn't PCM uncompressed digital audio?
    Yes, that is true. However via optical, you only get two channels (stereo), Dolby Digital or basic DTS (not the newer DTS-MA or DTS-HD). Dish satellite uses DD or 2-channel PCM (no DTS).

    There is an optical standard that supports 8 channels of audio at 44.1 or 48 KHz but sadly no consumer audio components support it.

    Audio on the satellite is either compressed to Dolby Digital or two channel PCM so you can't do better than that regardless of the path to the A/V receiver. I'd agree that PCM audio should provide the best audio available, all else being equal. But loosing channels (center, surrounds, etc.) is worse than slightly lower quality. In this case, multichannel audio must be DD.

    Dish receivers will send 2-channel PCM audio if DD multichannel audio isn't used without changing settings.
    With a receiver that decodes PCM I would have thought you would want that? With my pioneer receiver PCM gets decoded and to me has a better sound, better separation and better highs. I agree about using the line out.
    "Better" compared to what? Certainly better than analog audio.

    HDMI is the best conduit for audio between components that support it. It can support 8 (or more) audio channels at 48, 96 KHz or more, streaming of DD, DTS, DTS-MA and DTS-HD. But if you are limited to optical digital audio, 2-channel PCM is to restrictive. 2-channel analog audio would have the same limitations and would be of lesser quality in most cases.

    I'm not sure if the satellite receiver decodes DD to multichannel PCM over HDMI or whether Line/RF and Volume Leveling applies to this path.

    Since I've had an A/V receiver with HDMI inputs, I've always let it do the decoding. My Blu-Ray player will decode all formats and send multichannel PCM (up to 7.1 channels) to the receiver. I've played around with decoding in both places and couldn't tell much difference. I prefer to let the A/V receiver do the decode since it's better equipped to handle metadata like "dialnorm" and channel down-mixing.

    BTW, there's really no "decoding" of PCM audio -- just converting it to analog.

  7. #6
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! king3pj did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, king3pj did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, king3pj did! Be COOL like king3pj and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    Jun 7th, 2009
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    4,192
    Post Thanks / Like
    Gamer IDs

    PSN ID: king3pj
    Quote Originally Posted by Tampa8
    Isn't PCM uncompressed digital audio? With a receiver that decodes PCM I would have thought you would want that? With my pioneer receiver PCM gets decoded and to me has a better sound, better separation and better highs. I agree about using the line out.
    That is usually the case on bluray movies that have a PCM track but to get the best sound on Dish you want to select Dolby Digital if you have an AVR.

    HD channels from dish come with either DD 5.1 or DD 2.0. It is already compressed when it is delivered so selecting PCM can't give you uncompressed audio.

    When you select PCM on Dish you are having your satellite receiver take a 5.1 DD audio track (if available) and pass it through to your Denon as 2 channel stereo.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •