Welcome HOME to SatelliteGuys! We are America's Most Popular Satellite Forum!

        

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: HR 22-100 hook up.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2nd, 2012
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    3
    Post Thanks / Like

    HR 22-100 hook up.

    Hello,
    Very new to this site so please bare with me. I have DTV installed with a SWM H25-500 receiver. I have an old HR-22-100 with the dvr that I would like to add since it was free but I don't know if it will work. If I get a SWM splitter can I add the HR22? Will it work with the newer dish and powered LNB?
    Thanks for any help.


  2. # ADS
    Register Today & This Ad Goes Away! Syndicated Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Posts
    Many

    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
     
  3. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 18th, 2011
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    2,107
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by markk22
    Hello,
    Very new to this site so please bare with me. I have DTV installed with a SWM H25-500 receiver. I have an old HR-22-100 with the dvr that I would like to add since it was free but I don't know if it will work. If I get a SWM splitter can I add the HR22? Will it work with the newer dish and powered LNB?
    Thanks for any help.
    Yes it'll work. You only need 1 line to it since its SWM. Where did you get the receiver? If it was free it may be a leased receiver and Directv won't activate it on your account

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2nd, 2012
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    3
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter

    Hr 22 hook up

    Quote Originally Posted by Hutch1814 View Post
    Yes it'll work. You only need 1 line to it since its SWM. Where did you get the receiver? If it was free it may be a leased receiver and Directv won't activate it on your account
    The receiver was store bought some time ago by my father so I know its not leased. He used it for a few years then did away with the DVR since he didn't have much need for it.

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 18th, 2011
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    2,107
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by markk22

    The receiver was store bought some time ago by my father so I know its not leased. He used it for a few years then did away with the DVR since he didn't have much need for it.
    Store bought? You should prolly call directv and give them the RID number and check. Odds are they won't activate it on your account.

    Just because it's store bought doesn't mean it's always owned. Finding an owned box is really hard. It's mostly just us employees and commercial receivers that are owned.

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2nd, 2012
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    3
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter
    I understand that the SWM needs only one line but the HR 22 has 2 inputs Sat 1 and Sat 2. Does it still need both for the DVR to be usable? I assume I would ust a 3 way splitter and take 2 leads to the DVR.

  7. #6
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! royrdsjr did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, royrdsjr did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, royrdsjr did! Be COOL like royrdsjr and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    Jul 20th, 2009
    Location
    Grovetown,GA
    Posts
    4,268
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by markk22 View Post
    I understand that the SWM needs only one line but the HR 22 has 2 inputs Sat 1 and Sat 2. Does it still need both for the DVR to be usable? I assume I would ust a 3 way splitter and take 2 leads to the DVR.
    After you check with DTV to make sure that you can activate it to your account,you only need one coaxial cable attached to the Sat 1 input. IF you decide to get whole home multi-room viewing where you can watch recorded programing from your HR22 on your H26,you need a DECA adapter
    DIRECTV Ethernet Coax Adapter DECA (DECA1MR01) from Solid Signal


    or newer model
    DIRECTV DECA II Ethernet to Coax Adapter DECA (DCA2SR0) from Solid Signal


    to place between the coaxial cable & the Sat 1 input with the ethernet portion of the DECA adapter hooked up to your ethernet input on your HR22. You don't need to directly hook up your HR22 by ethernet to your router,the internet will run through your coaxial cable(that would also be how your H25 would get its internet hook up). Now you'll need a Cinema Connection Kit hooked up directly to your router & coaxial cable....

    On second thought,see if you can get your HR22 added to your account & then have DTV come out to set up your DECA adapter for your HR22 & Cinema Connection Kit along with needed splitter if you decide to go with whole home MRV.




Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •