Welcome HOME to SatelliteGuys! We are America's Most Popular Satellite Forum!

        

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 6 of 8

Thread: Split TV off Joey, trying to get remote to work

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 11th, 2006
    Location
    Southern Indiana
    Posts
    74
    Post Thanks / Like

    Split TV off Joey, trying to get remote to work

    I hooked up 2 tv's off 1 joey and the second tv is far enough away that the remote doesn't work. If i walk about 15ft from the room it starts to communicate with the Joey. Is there anyway around this to get it to pickup the remote that far? I have paired 2 remotes to the Joey so they both will operate the functions at both locations...



    Thanks
    Mike

  2. # ADS
    Register Today & This Ad Goes Away! Syndicated Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Posts
    Many

    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
     
  3. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 29th, 2005
    Location
    Greentown, Pennsylvania, United States
    Posts
    7,392
    Post Thanks / Like
    Something could be causing interference, try putting short coax between Joey and the remote antenna to move it closer to second remote.

  4. #3
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! n0qcu did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, n0qcu did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, n0qcu did! Be COOL like n0qcu and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    Sep 7th, 2003
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,364
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by garys View Post
    Something could be causing interference, try putting short coax between Joey and the remote antenna to move it closer to second remote.
    Cannot do the antenna is internal on the Joey.
    Kevin

    Thinking of Signing Up for DISH? Please consider using one of my referral codes below and we will both save $50 on our DISH bill!
    HOP055536601, HOP066044856, HOP066913243
    To redeem the code go to http://tinyurl.com/dishreferral or you can call 888-284-7103 or your local participating DISH retailer!
    (If you use one of my referral codes THANK YOU! Please PM when you use the code so I can remove the used code!)
    3 Hoppers
    3 Joeys, all wireless
    1 Hopper 2.0
    YES, all Hoppers can see the recordings on every Hopper.

  5. #4
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! king3pj did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, king3pj did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, king3pj did! Be COOL like king3pj and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    Jun 7th, 2009
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    4,216
    Post Thanks / Like
    Gamer IDs

    PSN ID: king3pj
    Quote Originally Posted by n0qcu View Post
    Cannot do the antenna is internal on the Joey.
    I was wondering how that worked. Since there was no visible antenna on the joey and it definitely isn't IR I wasn't sure if they joey was actually receiving the remote commands directly or if they were going to the hopper. I read that these were supposed to be new extended range remotes so I wasn't sure if the hopper was just getting all the signals and sorting it out based on which joey it was paired too. I guess an internal antenna would make much more sense though since you can switch which hopper a joey is linked to with just a couple button presses.

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 29th, 2005
    Location
    Greentown, Pennsylvania, United States
    Posts
    7,392
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by n0qcu View Post
    Cannot do the antenna is internal on the Joey.
    Wow, didn't notice that. Funny the Hopper has one. Maybe use a an IR remote with repeater?

  7. #6
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! kwindrem did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, kwindrem did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, kwindrem did! Be COOL like kwindrem and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    May 5th, 2006
    Posts
    337
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by mikemorin View Post
    I hooked up 2 tv's off 1 joey and the second tv is far enough away that the remote doesn't work. If i walk about 15ft from the room it starts to communicate with the Joey. Is there anyway around this to get it to pickup the remote that far? I have paired 2 remotes to the Joey so they both will operate the functions at both locations...

    Thanks
    Mike
    You might also try moving the Joey around, especially away from the TV and other electronics.

    If you have 2.4 GHz WiFi in the house, try changing the WiFi to a different channel since the 32.0 and 40.0 remotes use the same band.


    Recognizing you'd loose PIP, you could move your Hopper to the room you are splitting to 2 TVs. The external antenna may be enough, or you can add an extension, assuming you can find an extension kit or find the special connectors used.

    As someone else posted, you could use an IR remote and an IR repeater. The 32.0 and 40.0 remotes are UHF only to Hopper/Joey so you'd need something else: either a universal remote or an older Dish remote. It might be a challenge finding a Dish remote that has the colored buttons AND works IR. Others may be able to suggest a specific remote model.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •