Welcome HOME to SatelliteGuys! We are America's Most Popular Satellite Forum!

        

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 6 of 9

Thread: Help needed aiming D1000.2 Eastern Arc

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 6th, 2012
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    6
    Post Thanks / Like

    Question Help needed aiming D1000.2 Eastern Arc

    Ok - I recently purchased a Dish Network VIP 222K (dual tuner model) with a D1000.2 dish with Eastern Arc setup. I have had Dish Network receivers before and have used their Aiming Dish function to aim the Dish. However with the VIP 222K it comes with a "Setup Wizard" which insists on downloading a software update BEFORE it will allow me to to do anything but if I can't aim the Dish how do I get the software update . Is there anyway around this stupid setup wizard or am I stuck getting a meter ( not locally - the only ones that have one one locally is Rat Shack and it is just a basic one for $45. I am in the 13206 and have my dish set for 40/183/83 (EL/AZ/SK) and yes-the mounting bracket/pole is level/plumb.The Setup Wizard fails at installing switch because the dish is not aimed. Any advice would be appreciated!


  2. # ADS
    Register Today & This Ad Goes Away! Syndicated Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Posts
    Many

    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
     
  3. #2
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! satnewb did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, satnewb did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, satnewb did! Be COOL like satnewb and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    Mar 9th, 2011
    Location
    New Baltimore, MI
    Posts
    718
    Post Thanks / Like
    You should be able to bypass the wizard by hitting *,menu on the #1 remote. Then the point dish screen should be option 1 on the menu that comes onto the screen. You'll want to tune the dish on the 72 orbital. I usually use transponder 15.

  4. #3
    Join Date
    May 6th, 2012
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    6
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter
    THANKS - just wondering which Dish I should select as it does not offer a 1000.2 but a 300,500,Super. BTW - you are the FIRST one to let me know how to get around the setup wizard - others said it was not possible!

  5. #4
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! satnewb did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, satnewb did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, satnewb did! Be COOL like satnewb and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    Mar 9th, 2011
    Location
    New Baltimore, MI
    Posts
    718
    Post Thanks / Like
    as far as selecting the dish it doesn't matter. That's more for finding out the settings the dish needs to be at, which you already seem to have done. Shouldn't have any problems getting a signal once you're pointed correctly.

  6. #5
    Join Date
    May 6th, 2012
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    6
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter
    Thanks for your help -I was able to get to the Point Dish menu and at least get 72.7 Sat tuned in-unfortunately 61.5 won't come in no matter what I try but at least 72.7 gives me most of the channels .

  7. #6
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! Jim5506 did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, Jim5506 did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, Jim5506 did! Be COOL like Jim5506 and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    Oct 19th, 2004
    Location
    Lubbock, Texas
    Posts
    5,234
    Post Thanks / Like
    From behind the dish, cover up the right lnb (61.5) with aluminum foil.

    If you still have 72.7 signal then there may be a problem with the 61.5 lnb or with the internal switch.

    If you lose 72.7 it means you're about 10 degrees too far west and a little bit high on elevation (picking up 72.7 on the 61.5 lnb).
    Hitachi 57F59; Sony VHP-D50Q - 7' diag on wall
    Hopper with Sling; Hopper 2000, 3 - Joeys; 2 - HD TiVos, one with 1TB HDD, second with 1.5TB HDD; 2 - TiVo Series 2's; Accurian 6000; Samsung SIR-T351; Panasonic Showstopper 2000; ATI HDTV Wonder; Hauppauge HD PVR;
    2 X Sony PS3; Toshiba HD-A3 HDDVD; SlingBox AV
    Dish 1000.2 on 61.5 and 72.7
    RS U75-R; Funke PSP.1922 still in the box



    Thinking of Signing Up for DISH? Please consider using one of my referral codes below and we will both save $50 on our DISH bill!
    HOP128179863 / HOP128179863 / HOP128179863
    To redeem the code go to http://tinyurl.com/dishreferral or you can call 888-284-7103 or your local participating DISH retailer!
    (If you use one of my codes THANK YOU! Please PM me when you use the code so I can remove the used code!)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •