Welcome HOME to SatelliteGuys! We are America's Most Popular Satellite Forum!

        

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Need Remote Expert Help! URC7960

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 3rd, 2012
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    14
    Post Thanks / Like

    Need Remote Expert Help! URC7960

    I just purchased an URC7960 from the UK so I could get the PS3 adapter. I have my xsight touch set up to use the ps3 adapter by copying the keys over from the 7960. I want to use the 7960 with my hopper/joey, but none of the Dish/Echostar codes supplied in the manual work, nor any from the UK website. I have tried to enter the typical Dish codes, 0775, 1505, 1775, but it will not accept any of those codes. Am I SOL? I know I how to copy key functions, but the 7960 only has about 100 key memory?, so I would rather have an equipment code that will work.



    Also, anyone know of a code I could use in my ARXX18G Xsight Touch for the 7960's PS3 Bluetooth adapter?

    Thanks for any help anyone can give.

  2. # ADS
    Register Today & This Ad Goes Away! Syndicated Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Posts
    Many

    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
     
  3. #2
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! n0qcu did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, n0qcu did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, n0qcu did! Be COOL like n0qcu and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    Sep 7th, 2003
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,359
    Post Thanks / Like
    Did you turn on the IR remote function on your Hopper?
    Yellow - 6
    Kevin

    Thinking of Signing Up for DISH? Please consider using one of my referral codes below and we will both save $50 on our DISH bill!
    HOP055536601, HOP066044856, HOP066913243
    To redeem the code go to http://tinyurl.com/dishreferral or you can call 888-284-7103 or your local participating DISH retailer!
    (If you use one of my referral codes THANK YOU! Please PM when you use the code so I can remove the used code!)
    3 Hoppers
    3 Joeys, all wireless
    1 Hopper 2.0
    YES, all Hoppers can see the recordings on every Hopper.

  4. #3
    Join Date
    May 3rd, 2012
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    14
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by n0qcu View Post
    Did you turn on the IR remote function on your Hopper?
    Yellow - 6
    Yes, I've been using my Xsight touch with the Hopper.

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 19th, 2010
    Location
    Southeast
    Posts
    759
    Post Thanks / Like
    Our resident JP1 expert already explained this in great detail in another forum. But that UK remote does not have Dish codes or even a protocol that would work with advanced codes. If you like that model, why not buy the US version that does have Dish codes? It's less than $30 most places. And why not buy/build a JP1 cable for it and load the Dish protocol. That can be done for around $5.

    The 18G works fine with the 7960's PS3 adapter. Any sony blu-ray or DVD code should work. They were listed in the adapter manual last time I checked.

  6. #5
    Join Date
    May 3rd, 2012
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    14
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
    Our resident JP1 expert already explained this in great detail in another forum. But that UK remote does not have Dish codes or even a protocol that would work with advanced codes. If you like that model, why not buy the US version that does have Dish codes? It's less than $30 most places. And why not buy/build a JP1 cable for it and load the Dish protocol. That can be done for around $5.

    The 18G works fine with the 7960's PS3 adapter. Any sony blu-ray or DVD code should work. They were listed in the adapter manual last time I checked.
    Thanks mdavej, I think you helped me out in another forum... I purchased a URC 9910 a few years back with the intention of getting into JP1 - an extension of my Tiv* modifying , but never got there. Am now thinking about ordering/building a cable to get going again.

    I bought the UK version mostly for the PS3 adapter, but I'm using my xsight for the main TV, PS3, Hopper, DVD-VCR. I just wanted to use the 7960 for the bedroom TV, Joey. If I buy another remote at this point, I won't be sleeping in the bedroom for awhile ....

    Quote Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
    Our resident JP1 expert already explained this in great detail in another forum.
    Is that for loading Dish protocols on the 7960? I tried google without success; is it @ JP1 forums?

    Quote Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
    Any sony blu-ray or DVD code should work. They were listed in the adapter manual last time I checked.

    The PS3 adapter manual? I don't see any codes in the PS3 adapter manual. Just the codes for the 7960 in its manual.

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 19th, 2010
    Location
    Southeast
    Posts
    759
    Post Thanks / Like
    I've been in the doghouse many times for my remote habit. I know exactly where you're coming from.

    Unfortunately, learning or a JP1 cable is the only way to get Dish to work on the 7960. Details are in 3FG's reply in the hifi-remote.com JP1 forums.

    I couldn't find the code in the manual like I thought, but it was in their FAQ:
    For the Smart Control remote supplied with the Adapter, and the Xsight series of remotes, the code is 2555. This comes pre-programmed into the Smart Control unit supplied with the Adapter, and for the Xsight series this can be added via the ez-rc website (this can be found under DVD brand One For All).
    So just add DVD - One For All - PS3 and it should work.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •