Welcome HOME to SatelliteGuys! We are America's Most Popular Satellite Forum!

        

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 6 of 9

Thread: Align Directv HD SWM satellite dish...

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 10th, 2012
    Location
    55063
    Posts
    2
    Post Thanks / Like

    Align Directv HD SWM satellite dish...

    Hello all, Steve here and I'm new to forum....thanks for any help up front. I'm from Shoreview, MN 55126...I have Directv at home, Elevation 37.6 and Azimuth 188.8...I want to mount a 2nd Slimline HD SWM dish at my cabin which is 50 miles north of my current location. the zip code there is 55030 but I'm right on the edge of 55063....doesn't seem to matter since settings for both of those via Directv are almost the same as 55126....I've tried to use dishpointer.com but think they are trying to point me at wrong satellite...Am I looking for satellite 110?...sorry I've never done this before and would like it to go as trouble free as possible...my receiver is a model D12-100 if that matters...is it just a single cable from receiver to dish with the same filter in line that is used here at home...also the tilt or skew, where should that be set...the one at home here which is the same dish is at 80 something, would have to climb up and look for sure...again thanks for any help for the novice satellite guy.


  2. # ADS
    Register Today & This Ad Goes Away! Syndicated Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Posts
    Many

    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
     
  3. #2
    Join Date
    May 5th, 2007
    Location
    Salem, OR
    Posts
    8,396
    Post Thanks / Like
    It doesn't pay to argue with dishpointer.com. All DIRECTV Slimline dishes point at 101W.

    Did you carefully install the mandatory Power Inserter (PI) and band stop filter?

    You may be better off using an old dish with the D12 (other than needing to change the receiver configuration with each move).

  4. #3
    raoul5788's Avatar
    raoul5788 is online now Studebaker driver
    Proud SatelliteGuys Staff Member

    Proud Staff Member
    Join Date
    Dec 28th, 2004
    Location
    Cheshire CT
    Posts
    15,612
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Sscott225 View Post
    Hello all, Steve here and I'm new to forum....thanks for any help up front. I'm from Shoreview, MN 55126...I have Directv at home, Elevation 37.6 and Azimuth 188.8...I want to mount a 2nd Slimline HD SWM dish at my cabin which is 50 miles north of my current location. the zip code there is 55030 but I'm right on the edge of 55063....doesn't seem to matter since settings for both of those via Directv are almost the same as 55126....I've tried to use dishpointer.com but think they are trying to point me at wrong satellite...Am I looking for satellite 110?...sorry I've never done this before and would like it to go as trouble free as possible...my receiver is a model D12-100 if that matters...is it just a single cable from receiver to dish with the same filter in line that is used here at home...also the tilt or skew, where should that be set...the one at home here which is the same dish is at 80 something, would have to climb up and look for sure...again thanks for any help for the novice satellite guy.
    to Satelliteguys!

    Like harshness said, the Slimline points at 101, not 110. The older style Phase III dish points at 110. You have to make sure the mast is plumb. Then set the skew and elevation for what dishpointer says, then slowly sweep the dish, giving it enough time to register any changes in signal strength. It takes some patience, but you can do it yourself, I am sure.
    BTW, my name is Chip, Raoul5788 is just a screen name

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 10th, 2012
    Location
    55063
    Posts
    2
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter
    Thanks for reply...have 4 tvs hooked up at home...living room has dvr unit...bedroom has unit that is different than the dvr and then 2 in my basement which are the D12-100s....since kids have moved out I took one of those units north so I could just leave it there...it already had a band stop filter on back of it but not sure what a PI Power Inserter is unless it is part of the equipment that is by my wireless setup where the cable comes into the house...again sorry I know nothing about this, just trying to learn

  6. #5
    raoul5788's Avatar
    raoul5788 is online now Studebaker driver
    Proud SatelliteGuys Staff Member

    Proud Staff Member
    Join Date
    Dec 28th, 2004
    Location
    Cheshire CT
    Posts
    15,612
    Post Thanks / Like
    A power inserter powers the lnb in a swm system. I don't think your D12 will work on a swm setup. Since it's an sd receiver, you may want to get a Phase III dish. They are cheaper and much easier to align. Like harshness said, you would have to redo the setup for the different dish each time you move it from your house to the cabin.
    BTW, my name is Chip, Raoul5788 is just a screen name

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 27th, 2012
    Location
    Pokey
    Posts
    256
    Post Thanks / Like
    A D12 will work but he might need a band stop filter. If its the only receiver I don't think its necessary

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •