Welcome HOME to SatelliteGuys! We are America's Most Popular Satellite Forum!

        

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 6 of 7

Thread: Exede

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 14th, 2011
    Location
    Gotham City
    Posts
    275
    Post Thanks / Like

    Exede

    Okay I live in the middle of nowhere and am very limited with Internet providers. Basically satellite is my only choice. I went with wildblue (exede) and had it installed a couple weeks ago. Their data caps are pretty low and I know that after you exceed your data limit they throttle your connection speed. Normally I get pretty good speeds but I've managed to avoid going over my limit. Can anyone tell me how slow they throttle it after you reach the limit? I read on their website it's 128 Kbps when you get throttled but how slow is that exactly?


  2. # ADS
    Register Today & This Ad Goes Away! Syndicated Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Posts
    Many

    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
     
  3. #2
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! stardust3 did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, stardust3 did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, stardust3 did! Be COOL like stardust3 and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    Mar 7th, 2006
    Location
    NE TN
    Posts
    4,308
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Rorshach85 View Post
    Okay I live in the middle of nowhere and am very limited with Internet providers. Basically satellite is my only choice. I went with wildblue (exede) and had it installed a couple weeks ago. Their data caps are pretty low and I know that after you exceed your data limit they throttle your connection speed. Normally I get pretty good speeds but I've managed to avoid going over my limit. Can anyone tell me how slow they throttle it after you reach the limit? I read on their website it's 128 Kbps when you get throttled but how slow is that exactly?
    That's better than twice as fast as good dial-up, if you're lucky.

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 14th, 2011
    Location
    Gotham City
    Posts
    275
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter
    So would I notice a significant difference in my general browsing? I know that it wouldn't be very good for downloading things and whatnot but how would it fare for general browsing, checking email and so forth?

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 9th, 2011
    Posts
    176
    Post Thanks / Like
    Yes, you would notice a huge difference. But it would still be useable. How pages load will vary, depending on the content on the page. Using Firefox with noscript and flashblock addons would help by disabling flash content from loading unless you tell it to. Emails are generally small, sour you use an email client such as outlook, Thunderbird, ect. It would help with that aspect vs having to load multiple web pages to check mail.

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 14th, 2011
    Location
    Gotham City
    Posts
    275
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter
    So how does anybody manage with satellite Internet without constantly going over your data cap?

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 9th, 2011
    Posts
    176
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Rorshach85
    So how does anybody manage with satellite Internet without constantly going over your data cap?

    You don't live on the internet. You don't download large files or a bunch of small ones. Stay away from YouTube. Turn off auto updates. Ect.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •