Welcome HOME to SatelliteGuys! We are America's Most Popular Satellite Forum!

        

Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Can I use existing Directv coax to hook up HD antenna

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 22nd, 2012
    Posts
    1
    Post Thanks / Like

    Can I use existing Directv coax to hook up HD antenna

    I am suspending Directv service for 6 months and have bought a RCA ant751 HD antenna to be mounted outside. Can I simply unhook the coax from the Directv dish and hook my new antenna to the existing coax and equipment... Sounds too simple for it to really work..if so...is it that simple....without buying any new equipment? If not...what is the most economical way to hook up a new antenna while the Directv equipment remains in my house?? Thx. Doug


  2. # ADS
    Register Today & This Ad Goes Away! Syndicated Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Posts
    Many

    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
     
  3. #2
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! Iceberg did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, Iceberg did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, Iceberg did! Be COOL like Iceberg and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    Nov 17th, 2003
    Location
    Parts Unknown
    Posts
    89,850
    Post Thanks / Like
    sure you can. The cable doesnt care what its hooked up to.
    But if you have say the power inserter hooked up now make sure to unplug that from the cable
    FOLLOW THE BUZZARDS.....

  4. #3
    Join Date
    May 2nd, 2004
    Posts
    2,582
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by bikerdoug View Post
    I am suspending Directv service for 6 months and have bought a RCA ant751 HD antenna to be mounted outside. Can I simply unhook the coax from the Directv dish and hook my new antenna to the existing coax and equipment... Sounds too simple for it to really work..if so...is it that simple....without buying any new equipment? If not...what is the most economical way to hook up a new antenna while the Directv equipment remains in my house?? Thx. Doug
    Like Iceberg says, that is all there is to it.

    You might go to Antennaweb.org or similar......enter your zip code.....and they will give you a compass line (azimuth) to your local OTA stations.

    TVs older than ...1996...( I think)....will need a digital / analog converter similar to thew DTV aim 21. If you were seeing HD on the sets you are using you are good with the antenna.

    Joe

  5. #4
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! Iceberg did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, Iceberg did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, Iceberg did! Be COOL like Iceberg and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    Nov 17th, 2003
    Location
    Parts Unknown
    Posts
    89,850
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Joe Diamond View Post
    L

    TVs older than ...1996...( I think)....will need a digital / analog converter similar to thew DTV aim 21.
    2006
    FOLLOW THE BUZZARDS.....

  6. #5
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! charper1 did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, charper1 did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, charper1 did! Be COOL like charper1 and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    May 18th, 2004
    Location
    I'm Nationwide
    Posts
    18,443
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by bikerdoug View Post
    I am suspending Directv service for 6 months and have bought a RCA ant751 HD antenna to be mounted outside. Can I simply unhook the coax from the Directv dish and hook my new antenna to the existing coax and equipment... Sounds too simple for it to really work..if so...is it that simple....without buying any new equipment? If not...what is the most economical way to hook up a new antenna while the Directv equipment remains in my house?? Thx. Doug

    What is your distance from your towers and in what direction(s) as this may not be the ideal solution.
    DirecTV HR22, H21, H23, HR20, Sanyo PLV-Z 119", Acer H5360 106", Samsung PN51D450 51", Insignia NS-51P680A12 51", Onkyo TX-NR708, Onkyo HT-R550, Yamaha RX-Z, Sony BDP-S570, Sony PS3 (x2), D-Link Gigabit Network, ViaTalk Unlimited Everything VoIP ($13/mo)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •