Welcome HOME to SatelliteGuys! We are America's Most Popular Satellite Forum!

        

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 7 to 12 of 12

Thread: Clarification of DVB-S2 and HD

  1. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 15th, 2005
    Location
    Full time RVer
    Posts
    171
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by AcWxRadar View Post
    Hi Elchucko,

    So you really like your MicroHD quite well? It is working well for you in Deutchland? Awesome! I have been pondering ordering one, and I have heard many positive reports. But alas, I am not able to get my dish farm set back up at this current point in time. I think I may place an order for one MicroHD soon so that I will be ready to start off early in the spring with a NEW play toy.

    RADAR
    I am only here for the holiday season and didn't bring my MicroHD with me, but am familiar enough with it to make a comparison to what I can find here. I am considering the purchase of another receiver if I can find one reasonably priced that I could use to watch while recording on the MicroHD, or with additional features. So far it has been a non-productive search. It is very strange that most receivers advertise HD compatibility but do not mention DVB-S2.

    I started my FTA years in the early 90's here in Germany and have continued with it off and on since then. As a full time RVer for the past 8-9 years, FTA has been a challenge. I am now using my MotoSat steerable dish to lock onto a satellite and watch with my MicroHD. I canceled my Hughesnet satellite service and now use a MiFI for internet service, so the Motosat system can be used to scan any Ku sat. It is a lot slower to move from sat to sat but I can fine tune and peak any sat that it can see. Whenever I am stationary for a while, I set up a tripod with a second dish.

  2. # ADS
    Register Today & This Ad Goes Away! Syndicated Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Posts
    Many

    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
     
  3. #8
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! Lak7 did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, Lak7 did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, Lak7 did! Be COOL like Lak7 and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    Feb 28th, 2008
    Location
    Near Chicago, Illinois
    Posts
    5,425
    Post Thanks / Like
    It is very strange that most receivers advertise HD compatibility but do not mention DVB-S2.
    That kind of info is usually in the units "Specifications" tab - if looking online.
    10' Unimesh, with Bullseye II Feed and PLL LNBs, GBox 3000, feeding Omicom S2 & TBS5925.

  4. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 15th, 2005
    Location
    Full time RVer
    Posts
    171
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter
    It is very strange that most receivers advertise HD compatibility but do not mention DVB-S2.
    Quote Originally Posted by Lak7 View Post
    That kind of info is usually in the units "Specifications" tab - if looking online.
    I am talking about what is written on the box. It is unusual in North America but in Europe you can actually see a full array of sat receivers in a store, pick them up, look them over and read the specifications on the box! Media Markt (similar to Best Buy) carries 15-20 different receivers in most of their stores.

  5. #10
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! SatelliteAV did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, SatelliteAV did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, SatelliteAV did! Be COOL like SatelliteAV and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    Sep 3rd, 2004
    Location
    Roseville, CA
    Posts
    6,085
    Post Thanks / Like
    Media Markt is an amazing experience. Great thing about the German market is the availability of quality products.

    In Europe, HD marketed STBs are S2, MPEG4 and h.264 capable. Don't expect much from functions such as blindscan and motor control since most receivers are connected to fixed dishes on one or two satellites for 24/7 channels.

  6. #11
    Join Date
    May 6th, 2005
    Location
    Metro New Orleans, LA
    Posts
    6,569
    Post Thanks / Like
    If you buy a receiver overseas, be sure that it is capable of being powered from 120VAC/60hz and that it is capable of displaying North American resolutions (for example 1080i60, not just 1080i50).
    Current systems: 3X GEOSATpro microHD PVRs; Digitrans DTE-7150 DVB/Digicipher II; SiliconDust HDHomeRun ATSC/QAM networked tuners; fixed 1 meter Channel Master dish with Eagle Aspen P870 FSS stacked Ku LNB; 2X 3ABN 36" dishes with Sadoun KBSL1 stacked Ku LNBFs on Powermax SG-9120B H-H motors; fixed Sadoun SD180G 1.8 meter dish with Eagle Aspen B1SAT stacked C LNBF; Winegard Square Shooter OTA DTV antenna

  7. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 15th, 2005
    Location
    Full time RVer
    Posts
    171
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by Tron View Post
    If you buy a receiver overseas, be sure that it is capable of being powered from 120VAC/60hz and that it is capable of displaying North American resolutions (for example 1080i60, not just 1080i50).
    Good point about the resolution. Most products today are 100-250 volt/50-60hz. For the rare exception I have reversed the wiring in a 220 to 110 transformer that I used in Europe for years. It is now a step-up instead of a step-down.


Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •