Welcome HOME to SatelliteGuys! We are America's Most Popular Satellite Forum!

        

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Help installing wireless cinema connection kit

  1. #1
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! Neutron did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, Neutron did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, Neutron did! Be COOL like Neutron and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    Nov 7th, 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    16,487
    Post Thanks / Like

    Help installing wireless cinema connection kit

    I got the wireless cinema connection kit today from Directv.

    Normally something like this wouldn't be a challenge for me to install but this has been a total nightmare.

    I have an HR34 and two C31 clients in our house. The way it was done when it was installed on Thursday was the DECA was installed with a splitter for power and the cable from the dish connected to the other side of the splitter along with the cable going to the HR34 (something like that). The ethernet cable connected to my very unreliable wireless bridge that's on its last leg.

    I followed the instructions for the wireless CCK to a T and I just cannot get it to see my wireless network (or any other wireless network for that matter) unless I connect the CCK-W directly to the ethernet port on the HR34. Of course this disables the MRV and the C31s don't see the HR34.



    Talking to Directv tech support was useless, and unfortunately trying to revert back to the way the installer did it is also not working.

    How exactly does this thing connect? The instructions say to connect the DECA straight to the Sat 1 port on the HR34, then connect it to the Sat STB port on the CCK-W. The LNB port comes from the dish of course.

    I have the black DECA adapter that has the ethernet and Sat/Power ports on one side, and the TO LNB on the other. I can only get the network and power lights to work if I have that splitter with the power adapter connected to it.

    What am I doing wrong? Can someone draw me a diagram on how to connect this?
    Click here if you have benefited from satelliteguys.us
    Always here to help! Please feel free to contact me.
    Jason

  2. # ADS
    Register Today & This Ad Goes Away! Syndicated Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Posts
    Many

    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
     
  3. #2
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! HIFI did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, HIFI did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, HIFI did! Be COOL like HIFI and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    May 9th, 2007
    Location
    surfin SATGUYS in a round room with padded walls
    Posts
    8,863
    Post Thanks / Like
    Gamer IDs

    PSN ID: hifi454
    PM me when you have a minute today.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXXIMIZED using SatelliteGuys
    In the end we're all just chalklines on the concrete
    Drawn only to be washed away
    For the time that I've been given
    I am what I am

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2nd, 2012
    Location
    Pocatello Idaho
    Posts
    325
    Post Thanks / Like
    Okay.. you mention a DECA a couple times.. The HR34 doesnt need a DECA. Thats probably whats causing the problem (If I'm reading this right).. Here's the right way to connect the CCK-W.. and yes, it really is this simple...
    Cable from splitter goes into CCK-W (I think its labeled LNB), then the other cable goes from the CCK-W to the Satellite In on the Receiver. Do not connect ANY ethernet cables. just the 2 coax cables. Thats it.
    Then go into the Network setup on the receiver, run Restore Defaults, then run Get Connected and follow the on screen prompts.
    Oh.. helpful hint.. If your network name or network key (password) has any special characters(@,#,',$ etc.. basically, anything other than letters and numbers) then its gonna have a conniption fit.. Something in DirecTV's software wont recognize special characters.

  5. #4
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! Neutron did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, Neutron did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, Neutron did! Be COOL like Neutron and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    Nov 7th, 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    16,487
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter
    So no Ethernet cable or deca adapter required? The install instructions for whole house DVR with the genie clients says to connect both.
    Click here if you have benefited from satelliteguys.us
    Always here to help! Please feel free to contact me.
    Jason

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2nd, 2012
    Location
    Pocatello Idaho
    Posts
    325
    Post Thanks / Like
    no ethernet or Deca required.. Correct

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2nd, 2012
    Location
    Pocatello Idaho
    Posts
    325
    Post Thanks / Like
    The CCK-W runs the internet connection through the coax cable.
    The HR34 has the DECA built in to the coax connector.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •