Welcome HOME to SatelliteGuys! We are America's Most Popular Satellite Forum!

        

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 7 to 12 of 12

Thread: Picking bird on multi-lnb install

  1. #7
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! Keith Brannen did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, Keith Brannen did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, Keith Brannen did! Be COOL like Keith Brannen and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    Jun 2nd, 2006
    Location
    Southwestern Ontario
    Posts
    1,270
    Post Thanks / Like
    If it was me, I'd do 91, 97 (centre), and 103.
    AZBox Ultra HD + Pansat 3500SD + EMP Centauri 8x1 + 4x1 DiSEqC + 22KHz switches
    Ariza 80cm: G19 (97), AMC1 (103), Echo11 (110) / Fortec 80cm: AMC16 (85), G28 (89) / Fortec 80cm: AnikF3-Echo14 (119), AMC21 (125) / Ariza 80cm: Echo9 (121), H1 (127) / Star Choice 75e: Echo12 (61.5), AMC6 (72), AMC9 (83), SES2 (87), G25 (93) / SC 60e: HISPST (30) / SC 60e: G11 (91), G3C (95), SES1 (101) / SC 60e: (107.3), (111.1) SC subscription dish (+FTA)
    Avatar: 2008 setup 61.5, 72 or 74 (selectable), 79, 87

  2. # ADS
    Register Today & This Ad Goes Away! Syndicated Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Posts
    Many

    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
     
  3. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 7th, 2010
    Location
    Twin Cities
    Posts
    399
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter
    I have to do some more research or testing. I pointed to 91W, got a good signal, locked it in. Before I quit, I messed with a second LNB but didn't see a signal once so gave up. In the house, I hooked up a receiver, did a blind scan and low and behold, I got tons of channels, so what ever RT is on, that's a bird I seem to be picking up. Weird.

  4. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 7th, 2010
    Location
    Twin Cities
    Posts
    399
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by Keith Brannen View Post
    If it was me, I'd do 91, 97 (centre), and 103.
    What I'm looking for is RT for sure but my main fix would be the live news channels.

  5. #10
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! danristheman did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, danristheman did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, danristheman did! Be COOL like danristheman and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    Jan 25th, 2011
    Location
    Angola Indiana
    Posts
    666
    Post Thanks / Like
    I watch RT all the time on Gal 19 97w its a good satellite for a lot of decent channels to watch.

    Dan Rose

  6. #11
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! Keith Brannen did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, Keith Brannen did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, Keith Brannen did! Be COOL like Keith Brannen and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    Jun 2nd, 2006
    Location
    Southwestern Ontario
    Posts
    1,270
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by SATire View Post
    What I'm looking for is RT for sure but my main fix would be the live news channels.
    Your second LNB is definitely on 97 if you are getting RT. 91 has the live news feeds and usually they are fairly strong (I get them on a 60e, four degrees off-centre, at one time I did have it on a 80cm, six degrees off-centre). 103 also has live news feeds.

    Considering that there are so many channels on 97, and some of the transponders can be weak, is why I would put 97 at centre, and 91 six degrees off-centre. On my 80cm I did have 97 at centre and 103 off-centre, but wanted to boost the signal on 103. When I moved 103 to centre, some of the transponders on 97 dropped considerably now being 6 degrees off-centre, to the point where I didn't feel there was enough margin in case of weather changes. In the end I compromised by putting both off-centre, with 97 just slightly closer to centre than 103. That worked well, boosted 103 to satisfactory levels, while loss on 97 was minimal.

    Of course, your larger dish will help, depending on your EIRP levels for the satellites you want, and you may not want 103, and may want 83. In that case, you can leave it as is!
    AZBox Ultra HD + Pansat 3500SD + EMP Centauri 8x1 + 4x1 DiSEqC + 22KHz switches
    Ariza 80cm: G19 (97), AMC1 (103), Echo11 (110) / Fortec 80cm: AMC16 (85), G28 (89) / Fortec 80cm: AnikF3-Echo14 (119), AMC21 (125) / Ariza 80cm: Echo9 (121), H1 (127) / Star Choice 75e: Echo12 (61.5), AMC6 (72), AMC9 (83), SES2 (87), G25 (93) / SC 60e: HISPST (30) / SC 60e: G11 (91), G3C (95), SES1 (101) / SC 60e: (107.3), (111.1) SC subscription dish (+FTA)
    Avatar: 2008 setup 61.5, 72 or 74 (selectable), 79, 87

  7. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 7th, 2010
    Location
    Twin Cities
    Posts
    399
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter
    It's too cold to go up there for at least several days now but in the end, I locked the center to 91W and set a second LNB by hand, looking for signals and finding none. I locked the LNB in place then got off the roof. When I scanned, I found all of those 97W channels but none on 91W hahaha. Too weird.

    So the suggestion would be to make 97W my center LNB and locked position then? I can do that next time I get up there. Of course, I'm almost sure I'll have trouble again.



    I'm trying out a SatLink WS-9606 meter and need to read up on it. I wasn't able to find a setting that would allow me to hear a signal by simply moving the dish or LNB around. I could hear signal once I locked into 91W though but I want it to tell me when I hit ANY signal.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •