Welcome HOME to SatelliteGuys! We are America's Most Popular Satellite Forum!

        

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
Results 19 to 23 of 23

Thread: Please Help!

  1. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 27th, 2013
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    8
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter
    I have verizon DSL and a netgear WNR2000. I tried to directly connect the verizon modem to the receiver. Same connection errors. It finds an IP address, DCHP = ok, but internet and server connections fail. I am so bummed! I should also mention that this is my second receiver. The first one needed rebooted every morning because it would lose the signal and could not reconnect unless I reset the receiver. The new receiver has not needed rebooted yet.

  2. # ADS
    Register Today & This Ad Goes Away! Syndicated Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Posts
    Many

    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
     
  3. #20
    Join Date
    Nov 14th, 2009
    Location
    Ayer, Ma
    Posts
    803
    Post Thanks / Like

    Please Help!

    Quote Originally Posted by lucky86 View Post
    By the way, I'm just curious, but who is your ISP and what model modem/router?
    He has verizon DSL, he did mention that early on. The westel 6100 is Verizon's basic dsl modem works really well, but you really need a good quality router I like the wrt54gs flashed with dd-wrt. Found this to be very stable for our needs. For those that don't know this is a wireless router that also has 4 Ethernet ports.
    Based on what I have read here Dish needs to retire the 922. Sure some folks got lucky and have had no problems but it seems to me the lucky ones are truly the exception.

    Ross


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

  4. #21
    Join Date
    Nov 14th, 2009
    Location
    Ayer, Ma
    Posts
    803
    Post Thanks / Like

    Please Help!

    Quote Originally Posted by dani View Post
    I have verizon DSL and a netgear WNR2000. I tried to directly connect the verizon modem to the receiver. Same connection errors. It finds an IP address, DCHP = ok, but internet and server connections fail. I am so bummed! I should also mention that this is my second receiver. The first one needed rebooted every morning because it would lose the signal and could not reconnect unless I reset the receiver. The new receiver has not needed rebooted yet.
    Just out of curiosity, when you look at the network set up page on th e922 do you have external ip addresses in the primary and secondary DNS lines. I have verizon, my primary starts with 71 and secondary 68.

    Ross


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

  5. #22
    Join Date
    Jan 27th, 2013
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    8
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter
    My IP and primary DNS start with 172. Secondary DNS is all 0.

  6. #23
    Join Date
    Jan 27th, 2013
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    8
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter
    Just a quick follow up note to say that I purchased a NETGEA WNDR3700 and now it connects fine.
    Thank you everyone for your help on this matter!


Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •