Welcome HOME to SatelliteGuys! We are America's Most Popular Satellite Forum!

        

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 6 of 9

Thread: How many OTA tuners can a Hopper have

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 18th, 2011
    Location
    Cleveland
    Posts
    45
    Post Thanks / Like

    How many OTA tuners can a Hopper have

    Can you hook 2 up and record 7 programs at the same time, or can it only handle 1 OTA tuner?


  2. # ADS
    Register Today & This Ad Goes Away! Syndicated Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Posts
    Many

    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
     
  3. #2
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! navychop did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, navychop did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, navychop did! Be COOL like navychop and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    Jul 20th, 2005
    Location
    Northern VA
    Posts
    29,007
    Post Thanks / Like
    1 OTA per Hopper.

    Sent from my iPhone using SatelliteGuys
    Reunite Pangaea!

    Appreciate my posts AND thinking of Signing Up for DISH? Please consider using one of my referral codes below and we will both save $50 on our DISH bill!
    DRD703497211 / DRD592770150 / ADP0029743389
    To redeem the code go to http://tinyurl.com/dishreferral or you can call 888-284-7103 or your local participating DISH retailer!
    (If you use one of my codes THANK YOU! Please PM when you use the code so I can remove the used code!)


  4. #3
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! 3HaloODST did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, 3HaloODST did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, 3HaloODST did! Be COOL like 3HaloODST and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    Jul 2nd, 2010
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    6,257
    Post Thanks / Like
    Hopper can record up to 7 channels at once.

    2 SAT + 4 PTAT + 1 OTA

    Sent from my iPhone 4S using Forum Runner
    2 Hoppers w/Sling / 2 Hopper 2000s / 1 Joey 1.0 (all receivers can see each other)

    1 ViP722k (separate account)

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 15th, 2010
    Location
    arizona
    Posts
    636
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by 3HaloODST View Post
    Hopper can record up to 7 channels at once.

    2 SAT + 4 PTAT + 1 OTA

    Sent from my iPhone 4S using Forum Runner
    How many actual tuners are available at any one time?

  6. #5
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! 3HaloODST did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, 3HaloODST did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, 3HaloODST did! Be COOL like 3HaloODST and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    Jul 2nd, 2010
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    6,257
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by inazsully View Post

    How many actual tuners are available at any one time?
    3 SAT + 1 OTA.

    PTAT is however available at all times now so the BIg Four can all be recorded at once on a single tuner anytime you want.

    Sent from my iPhone 4S using Forum Runner
    2 Hoppers w/Sling / 2 Hopper 2000s / 1 Joey 1.0 (all receivers can see each other)

    1 ViP722k (separate account)

  7. #6
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! Tampa8 did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, Tampa8 did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, Tampa8 did! Be COOL like Tampa8 and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    Sep 8th, 2003
    Location
    Tampa/Eastern Ct
    Posts
    8,180
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by inazsully View Post
    How many actual tuners are available at any one time?
    With the new technology the answer to that is misleading. There are three actual tuners per Hopper, and an OTA tuner if you want one, making total of four. But unlike in the past that's not the whole story as 3Halo0DS posted. Because with PTAT you can record all four networks during prime time on one tuner, effectively giving you 7 channels to record at once, with an OTA tuner.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •