Welcome HOME to SatelliteGuys! We are America's Most Popular Satellite Forum!

        

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 6 of 10

Thread: How do Dish Anywhere sessions work?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 25th, 2013
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    6
    Post Thanks / Like

    How do Dish Anywhere sessions work?

    I am upgrading to a VIP722k and have connected it to the internet through a high speed 5Ghz 802.11n dedicated WiFi connection then then passes through a DSL router.

    I am mostly curious on how Dish Anywhere actually works and what, if any, special configuration I need to set in my router.

    I understand that the DVR connects to the Dish server and that when I log into dishanywhere.com, I am connecting to the Dish server which controls the whole process.

    If I want to set the DVR to record a show, I assume that the server sends instructions to the DVR.

    If I want to view live content or recorded content, I have read that the Dish Anywhere will utilize one of the tuners in the VIP722k. I do not know if that content comes directly from DVR or if it is transferred through the Dish server, but it seems logical that it would come directly from the DVR

    What I do not get is how the Dish server communicates with the DVR or how a session is set up to connect the DVR and the DishAnywhere device (in my case a laptop). Unless it requires that the DVR initiate a session, it would seem to me that it would be necessary to set up some type of port forwarding to get any request from the server through a router and to the DVR. I guess this could be done through UPnP. (Although I prefer to turn off UPnP.)



    If the Dish server needs to initiate a session, can port forwarding be specified, or does the system require UPnP? (I can find no way to set a static IP address or port for the VIP722k).

    So, can anyone tell me how the sessions are initiated and maintained?

  2. # ADS
    Register Today & This Ad Goes Away! Syndicated Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Posts
    Many

    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
     
  3. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 25th, 2013
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    6
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter

    Update

    I am now thinking that all sessions must be initiated by the DVR.

    The VIP722k shows up on my network as "new-host1". I can ping it and I can do a port scan on it. Apparently the only three ports that are open are 21 (FTP), 25 (SMTP), and 110(POP3).

    Any attempt to attach to the DVR via FTP causes an immediate loss of connection - before any possible authentication. So I am thinking that the DVR is programmed to never accept any incoming FTP connection. If all internet sessions are initiated by the DVR, then there is no for port forwarding.

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 3rd, 2013
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Do you have the sling adapter? Dish Anywhere requires that a sling adapter be connected to the 722.

  5. #4
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! navychop did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, navychop did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, navychop did! Be COOL like navychop and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    Jul 20th, 2005
    Location
    Northern VA
    Posts
    29,018
    Post Thanks / Like
    Sling Box would be another option.

    The Dish server just initiates the session. Your program does not go thru to Dish then to you.

    Almost nobody has to change their router. You're making this out to be a lot harder than it is.

    Sent from my iPhone using SatelliteGuys
    Reunite Pangaea!

    Appreciate my posts AND thinking of Signing Up for DISH? Please consider using one of my referral codes below and we will both save $50 on our DISH bill!
    DRD703497211 / DRD592770150 / ADP0029743389
    To redeem the code go to http://tinyurl.com/dishreferral or you can call 888-284-7103 or your local participating DISH retailer!
    (If you use one of my codes THANK YOU! Please PM when you use the code so I can remove the used code!)


  6. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 25th, 2013
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    6
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter
    Thanks NavyChop. I do not have a sling box, and, yes, it seems as if all I need to do is connect the DVR to a good Ethernet network and forget it.

    The reason for my thread was to understand how it does it - manages and controls communication among the Dish Anywhere app or program, the Dish server, and the DVR...

    Why? Just because I kind of like to know the technology I am using. ;-)

    ddsp

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 29th, 2005
    Location
    Greentown, Pennsylvania, United States
    Posts
    7,389
    Post Thanks / Like
    I have had my 722 for some time now, I recently got a smart phone and the sling adaptor and then I downloaded the app to the phone. I was able to view off tuner 2 and existing dvr recordings without much trouble and I never changed anything on my server or router. Just remember the 722 needs to be connected to your broadband.
    Last edited by garys; 04-27-2013 at 04:35 PM.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •