Welcome HOME to SatelliteGuys! We are America's Most Popular Satellite Forum!

        

Page 12 of 12 FirstFirst ... 2101112
Results 67 to 71 of 71

Thread: I just jumped into FTA. Digiwave (HD-9003PVR)

  1. #67
    Join Date
    Jul 2nd, 2013
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    29
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter
    Thanks everyone for your help.

    I solved the missing transponders issue. Bad coax. I replaced all the coax in the system, except the 3ft piece going through the wall. That fixed it. I bought some better quality coax from Sayal. The system has now run without a hiccup. Although when it rains heavily, things can get a bit dicey.

    So i've been mainly viewing the news channels such as AJ, JN1 and Rt. Unfortunately I hear now that AJ will be gone soon. Just my luck.

    Some things I noticed with this receiver.

    1) I can't seem to enable closed captions. Tried a bunch of buttons but it won't do it. I guess it's also possible that it doesn't support that.


    2) On another thread someone said that they couldn't get audio on 97W for channel TFC-CA WEST with a cheap SD receiver. I tried it on mine and I also don't get sound. When I press the info button for that channel it shows a small green icon with what looks like Dolby printed in it. Not a big deal but a bit disappointing since you would think a DVB-S2 receiver should be hardware capable. I also did a recording of this channel and tried to play it on my LG BP620 Blueray and it wouldn't play it. A recording of AJ did play.

    3) The hdmi audio doesn't work with my main lcd tv but does work with another smaller lcd tv.

    I'll probably start checking out other sats soon. I got kind of lazy after I got it set up.


    So once again thanks for all your help and sorry for this late update. Also I will try to keep you informed as I go along.

    P.S.

    JorgeK:

    I just noticed your pm about rg6 tonight. I went to Sayal and checked out their stuff and the prices are not too much more than the dollar store stuff that I used to get and the quality is much better. Also noticed that Canada Computers sold out of most of their fta stuff recently. I was gonna get another LNBF as a spare. They had like 3 left at my location and they are all gone now. Thanks for all your help.

  2. # ADS
    Register Today & This Ad Goes Away! Syndicated Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Posts
    Many

    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
     
  3. #68
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! SatelliteAV did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, SatelliteAV did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, SatelliteAV did! Be COOL like SatelliteAV and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    Sep 3rd, 2004
    Location
    Roseville, CA
    Posts
    6,085
    Post Thanks / Like
    Great news and congrats!

    1. Closed Captions are available on some channels, but the microHD is the only S2 receiver to decode Closed Captioning.

    2. Not all chipsets decode AAC and AC3 audio. Most S2 receivers do, but unfortunately some choose not pay the extra few dollars for the function.

    3. Have you tried changing the output resolution on the receiver to another setting? Some TVs are limited in the resolutions that they support.

  4. #69
    Join Date
    Jul 2nd, 2013
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    29
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter
    SatelliteAV:

    Thanks. Yes I tried that. In tried changing a bunch of parameters on the receiver but no luck. I think it is the TV since on the other LCD it works.

    As for CC are there any on G19? I checked all of the channels and couldn't see any.

    I haven't observed any DVB-S2 channels yet. I'll have to look into that and see if this receiver can decode sound for AAC.

  5. #70
    Join Date
    Nov 25th, 2010
    Location
    NH
    Posts
    895
    Post Thanks / Like
    mrpeter are you still using this receiver? Do you have any screenshots of the menus on it? I think I have a similar receiver. I made a satellite list for mine. The motor controls don't really work. Were you able to find new firmware?

  6. #71
    Join Date
    Jul 2nd, 2013
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    29
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter
    "mrpeter are you still using this receiver?" Yes

    "Do you have any screenshots of the menus on it?" No

    However the layout is as follows. Along the top under the menu button are the following menus and their submenus.

    1) Program
    1.1) Program Edit
    1.2) EPG
    1.3) Sort
    1.4) DB Managemant
    1.5) Schedule

    2) Picture
    2.1) Aspect Ratio
    2.2) Resolution
    2.3) TV Format
    2.4) Video Output
    2.5) Banner Time
    2.6) Digital Audio

    3) Channel Search
    3.1) Dish Setup

    4) Time
    4.1) Time Offset
    4.2) Time Zone
    4.3) Date
    4.4) Time
    4.5) Sleep
    4.6) Standby Show Time

    5) Option
    5.1) OSD Language
    5.2) Subtitle Language
    5.3) Audio Language

    6) System
    6.1) Parental Guidance
    6.2) Restore factory Default
    6.3) Information
    6.4) Recall List
    6.5) Software Update

    7) USB
    7.1) Multimedia
    7.2) Photo Configure
    7.3) PVR Configure

    "I think I have a similar receiver. I made a satellite list for mine. The motor controls don't really work."

    I'm on a fixed dish to Gal19 97W. I was wondering if this would ever work with a motor. Can you expand on what you've tried in regards to motoring with it?

    "Were you able to find new firmware?" No.

    I tried checking the Digiwave website a few month's ago but never found anything. I figured it's an orphaned product.

    Also, under System --> Information I get the following

    Model: 7133
    SW Version: 1.13
    HW Version: 1.0

    Release Time: Jun 29 2012 23:30:00


    I also have a HomeWorx HW-150PVR atsc converter box/dvr with Hdmi out for OTA. It is essentially the same box. The menu structure is exactly the same. It has the same icons and headings for each menu.

    I.E.
    1) Program
    2) Picture
    3) Channel Search
    4) Time
    5) Option
    6) System
    7) USB

    Only the submenu's for each item are different since it is for OTA. Also the remotes are the same for each but different button labelling. The same position button on each remote works the same function for each respective box. So they are essentially interchangeable.

    I haven't checked all of them but that is the impression I get. Also the Sat box has one extra row of 4 buttons at the bottom. So I think this is some kind of generic box that they use for OTA or FTA and they tweak for each different case.

    Having used the box now for awhile it has a number of shortcomings. I doesn't do closed captions and can't decode AC3. Also you can set it up to boot up in PAL or NTSC mode. The native mode for it is in PAL. Even though I set it for NTSC every once in a while it reverts to PAL mode and I have to go through the menu and manually select NTSC again. Trying to get to that in Pal mode on an NTSC display is a pain in the butt that makes it not user friendly for the average joe. Also when this happens it also screws up the time. I usually set the time to manual which it allows you to do. Also I noticed that sometimes it provides EPG listings
    and sometimes, for the same channels there is no EPG listings. This happens for all channels. I.E those that usually provide them will all not have them sometimes. Not sure if it's the box or the satellite.

    I meant to update this thread on my experience but got a bit lazy. The box has been working satisfactorily for the most part. The only problem was during the ice storm where I lost reception of everything for about a week. I could see branches drooping from the ice and the dish was caked in it. Once things warmed up reception of everything came back. Then I noticed afterwards that I lost the EL ETEJAH transponder only. There was snow on the lower 15 to 20% of the dish. I cleaned that off and it came back in.



    I just want to thank everyone for their help and once things warm up again I will play around with it some more. I may also be coming into possession of a SHAW dish in the future and will definately be seeking advice once I get it.

    P.S. Sorry for posting this a bit late. I had some trouble with trying to post this a couple of days ago. My XP box was down and when trying to post from my win2k box the text formatting wouldn't take. I just got my XP box back up and was able to post this now.

Page 12 of 12 FirstFirst ... 2101112

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •