Welcome HOME to SatelliteGuys! We are America's Most Popular Satellite Forum!

        

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 6 of 11

Thread: Genie USB ports

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 12th, 2012
    Location
    Rough River KY
    Posts
    4
    Post Thanks / Like

    Genie USB ports

    My Genie (HR34) has a USB port on the front panel behind a little door. I thought this might be a good way to connect my Nexus tablet so I could watch or stream internet shows. The problem is I can't find anywhere in the software an option where I can switch over to this USB port. Is there a way to do this? I did connect my tablet, but it didn't do a thing. What else would this port be used for?


  2. # ADS
    Register Today & This Ad Goes Away! Syndicated Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Posts
    Many

    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
     
  3. #2
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! Jimbo did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, Jimbo did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, Jimbo did! Be COOL like Jimbo and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    Jul 14th, 2005
    Location
    NW Ohio - Buckeye Country
    Posts
    47,064
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by preacherJohn View Post
    My Genie (HR34) has a USB port on the front panel behind a little door. I thought this might be a good way to connect my Nexus tablet so I could watch or stream internet shows. The problem is I can't find anywhere in the software an option where I can switch over to this USB port. Is there a way to do this? I did connect my tablet, but it didn't do a thing. What else would this port be used for?
    Unfortunately, USB ports on the D* recvrs have never been implemented to be working as far as I know.
    Play Ball !!!



    2 HR24-500's, 2 HR24-100's, SL3 Dish, SWM Dish, AM21, 60" Pioneer Elite, 2 - 42" Pioneer Elite's, Sony BDP-S790, Seagate 1.5 TB EHD


    Thinking of signing up for DIRECTV? Please PM me for my DIRECTV account number and we can both save $100 on our DIRECTV bill!

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 12th, 2012
    Location
    Rough River KY
    Posts
    4
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter
    Not even the USB port on the backside? I thought you could add an extra Hard drive.

  5. #4
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! Iceberg did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, Iceberg did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, Iceberg did! Be COOL like Iceberg and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    Nov 17th, 2003
    Location
    Parts Unknown
    Posts
    89,770
    Post Thanks / Like
    Hard drive uses esata

    the only thing a USB works with is the AM21 over the air tuner
    FOLLOW THE BUZZARDS.....

  6. #5
    raoul5788's Avatar
    raoul5788 is offline Studebaker driver
    Proud SatelliteGuys Staff Member

    Proud Staff Member
    Join Date
    Dec 28th, 2004
    Location
    Cheshire CT
    Posts
    15,563
    Post Thanks / Like
    Or power for a cell phone or cooling fan.
    BTW, my name is Chip, Raoul5788 is just a screen name

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 19th, 2004
    Location
    Fresno,ca
    Posts
    94
    Post Thanks / Like
    Can anyone verify that the USB port can safely be used for a cooling fan? And if so, will the fan go off when you power down the receiver?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •