Welcome HOME to SatelliteGuys! We are America's Most Popular Satellite Forum!

        

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 6 of 10

Thread: Dishnetwork satellite angles

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 23rd, 2006
    Posts
    17
    Post Thanks / Like

    Dishnetwork satellite angles

    I have an 811 HD receiver. But I was not subscribing to any of their HD programming.
    They said it is not possible for me to activate any HD programming as this is an older Mpeg2 model.

    So I decided to purchase a vip211 for 200$ from ebay.
    I have a superdish and a seperate one covering satellites at angles 61.5, 110, 119 & 121.

    When I checked lyngsat, I saw that dish has the same HD channels coming from both 129 and 61.5.
    Since I dont have a dish pointing to 129, Im not sure if I will be able to get HD programming using vip211 even if I purchase it.

    1. Which satellite is the mpeg4 HD coming from.
    ( If it is 129, then I will have to spend an additional 200$ for the new dish, switch, installation etc. )

    2. Also all I want is ESPNHD and ESPN2HD for the upcoming world cup soccer. Is there any way I can get these on my 811 ?

    Thanks for reading

    --nw


  2. # ADS
    Register Today & This Ad Goes Away! Syndicated Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Posts
    Many

    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
     
  3. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2nd, 2006
    Location
    Wilmington, DE
    Posts
    510
    Post Thanks / Like
    Your 61.5 dish will pick up any national HD channels that are on 129 - so you'll be fine there.

    Go to
    www.dishchannelchart.com


    and you can see where all of the HD channels are, what satellites they are on, and whether they are MPEG 2 or 4. (They start in the 9400's)

    I believe ESPN is MPEG-2, however ESPN2HD may be MPEG-4.


  4. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 20th, 2006
    Location
    El Dorado Hills, CA
    Posts
    1,716
    Post Thanks / Like
    HD national is the same on 61.5 and 129. It kind of depends on where in the US you live. Where do you live? You may have to use the 129 for HD locals.

    I think the world cup is on NBC also.

  5. #4
    Join Date
    May 23rd, 2006
    Posts
    17
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter
    Thank you very much for the immediate response :
    I live in Atlanta.
    Thank you very much for the
    http://www.dishchannelchart.com/


    link. Very useful.

    1. As per this site most of the HA channels are telecast from both 61.5 and 129. Are these region specific ( some regions will get it through 61.5 whereas some other will get it through 129 ). I mean why would they have the exact same channels telecast through two satellite *if both are Mpeg2 or mpeg4*
    2. Also this site has specifically written for mpeg2 cases ( ESPN High Definition (MPEG-2) ). But many of them have no specifications at all. Eg :- What is ESPN2 HD. Is it mpeg2 or mpeg4.

    Thanks once again for the great responses
    --nw


  6. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 20th, 2006
    Location
    El Dorado Hills, CA
    Posts
    1,716
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by norris_watkins
    2. Also this site has specifically written for mpeg2 cases ( ESPN High Definition (MPEG-2) ). But many of them have no specifications at all. Eg :- What is ESPN2 HD. Is it mpeg2 or mpeg4.
    Don't know if ESPN2 is MPEG2 or 4, but I'm pretty sure you need the MPEG4 reciever to get it.

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2nd, 2006
    Location
    Wilmington, DE
    Posts
    510
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by norris_watkins

    1. As per this site most of the HA channels are telecast from both 61.5 and 129. Are these region specific ( some regions will get it through 61.5 whereas some other will get it through 129 ). I mean why would they have the exact same channels telecast through two satellite *if both are Mpeg2 or mpeg4*


    Thanks once again for the great responses
    --nw
    Most folks on the East Coast can't see the 129 satellite very well, so we use the 61.5 satellite for reception. It's all based on angles. Basically if you had two grocery stores to go to - you'd use the one closest to you - not the one 5 miles away.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •